Pete Townshend Preps 1986 Live DVD Featuring David Gilmour - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Pete Townshend Preps 1986 Live DVD Featuring David Gilmour

‘Face the Face’ concert set finds Deep End supergroup playing Townshend solo, Who cuts

Pete TOWNSHEND, of The Who, performing live onstage, solo Pete Townshend Preps 1986 Live DVD Featuring David Gilmour

Pete Townshend is releasing a live CD/DVD of his Deep End supergroup – featuring David Gilmour – performing in 1986

David Redfern/Getty

In 1985, Pete Townshend formed Deep End, a supergroup featuring Pink Floyd guitarist David Gilmour and acclaimed session drummer Simon Phillips. After a handful of sporadic performances, the band joined the Who guitarist to tour behind his solo concept LP, White City: A Novel. Face the Face, a new live CD/DVD featuring that 1986 show, is out September 16th via Eagle Rock Entertainment.

The concert – filmed January 29th, 1986 for German TV series Rockpalast at MIDEM in Cannes, France – features a massive, all-star line-up: Townshend, Gilmour, Phillips, percussionist Jody Linscott, harmonica player Peter Hope-Evans, bassist Chucho Merchan, Who touring keyboardist John “Rabbit” Bundrick, the Kick Horns and five backing vocalists.

The set list balances Townshend solo cuts (including material from White City) with Who classics (“Won’t Get Fooled Again,” “Behind Blue Eyes,” “Pinball Wizard”) and David Gilmour’s “Blue Light.” The DVD edition also includes a cover of Screamin’ Jay Hawkins’ blues anthem “I Put a Spell on You.”

Deep End performed two charity concerts in 1985 at London’s Brixton Academy, documented on 1986’s Deep End Live! and 2004’s Live: Brixton Academy ’85.

White City: A Novel, originally released in November 1985, featured Bundrick as the main keyboardist, with guest appearances from Gilmour, Phillips, Merchan, Hope-Evans and the Kick Horns. Gilmour is credited with co-writing “White City Fighting,” which the Pink Floyd leader originally planned as an instrumental for his second solo LP, 1984’s About Face

Pete Townshend’s Deep End – Face the Face Track List

1. “Won’t Get Fooled Again”
2. “Secondhand Love”
3. “Give Blood”
4. “Behind Blue Eyes”
5. “After The Fire”
6. “Slit Skirts”
7. “Blue Light”
8. “I Put A Spell On You*
9. “Hiding Out:
10. “The Sea Refuses No River”
11. “Face The Face”
12. “Pinball Wizard”
13. “A Little Is Enough”
14. “Rough Boys”
15. “Night Train”

* not on CD


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.