Paul McCartney Sets Reissues for Wings' Wild Life, Red Rose Speedway - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Paul McCartney Announces Massive Reissues for Wings’ ‘Wild Life,’ ‘Red Rose Speedway’

Deluxe limited edition sets boast home recordings, alternate mixes, originally conceived ‘Red Rose Speedway’ double album, unseen ‘Bruce McMouse Show’ and more

Paul McCartneyPaul McCartney

Paul McCartney has announced a pair of deluxe reissues dedicated to the Wings-era LPs 1971's 'Wild Life' and 1973's 'Red Rose Speedway.'


Paul McCartney announced the latest installments of his ongoing Archive Collection, a pair of deluxe reissues dedicated to the Wings-era LPs 1971’s Wild Life and 1973’s Red Rose Speedway. Both reissues arrive December 7th.

For the 3CD/1DVD limited deluxe edition of Wild Life, the newly remastered original album will be paired with two discs worth of rough mixes, home recordings, b-sides, single edits and other unreleased material, including a minute-long home recording of “Indeed I Do.” The DVD for the set boasts rare footage of acoustic home videos, rehearsals and more.

“The Wild Life deluxe package includes a 128-page book written by David Fricke telling the story behind the album – including track-by-track information and new interviews with Paul and key album personnel, a 48-page scrapbook of tour diaries, lyrics and set lists, unpublished Polaroids, lyrics, notes and memorabilia from the MPL archives,” MPL/Capitol/UMe said of the reissue.

Red Rose Speedway‘s massive 3CD/2DVD/1Blu-ray set enjoins the remastered 1973 LP with a reconstructed version of its originally conceived (but ultimately nixed) “double album,” as well as b-sides, alternate mixes and previously unreleased tracks from the era. The reissue’s DVDs include the James Paul McCartney TV Special, interviews and music videos, and the never-before-seen film The Bruce McMouse Show.

“The package includes a folio containing 14 replica hand-drawn original character sketches by Paul and facsimile dialogue sheets for the film, a 128-page book containing many previously unpublished images by Linda McCartney, expanded album and single artwork from the archives and story behind the album – including new interviews with Paul McCartney, and key album personnel – and track-by-track information, written by Amanda Petrusich, five replica handwritten lyric sheets and photo print, a 64-page ‘Wings In Morocco’ photo book, all housed in a numbered outer slipcase,” MPL/Capitol/UMe said.

While both reissues will be sold separately and in double-CD and double-vinyl formats, the mammoth Wings 1971 – 1973 box set pairs the super deluxe versions of Wild Life and Red Rose Speedway along with an exclusive new live album titled Wings Over Europe, a collection of 20 songs from the band’s European tours during the era.

“Every release in the on-going Paul McCartney Archive Collection is supervised by Paul himself, who oversees all aspects of each and every title from remastering to the curation of lost tracks, outtakes, artwork, photographs and video from his personal vaults, and much more,” McCartney’s site added of the reissues, the 10th and 11th installment in the ongoing series. “The result is one of the most ambitious and personal undertakings of its kind, one that encompasses more than 40 years of cherished, classic material from the most successful songwriter and recording artist in music history.”

Pre-order Wild Life, Red Rose Speedway and Wings 1971-1973 now through McCartney’s site.

Wild Life Track List

CD1 – Remastered Album:
1. Mumbo (2018 Remaster)
2. Bip Bop (2018 Remaster)
3. Love Is Strange (2018 Remaster)
4. Wild Life (2018 Remaster)
5. Some People Never Know (2018 Remaster)
6. I Am Your Singer (2018 Remaster)
7. Bip Bop (Link) (2018 Remaster)
8. Tomorrow (2018 Remaster)
9. Dear Friend (2018 Remaster)
10. Mumbo (Link) (2018 Remaster)

CD2 – Rough Mixes:
1. Mumbo [Rough Mix]
2. Bip Bop [Rough Mix]
3. Love Is Strange (Version) [Rough Mix]
4. Wild Life [Rough Mix]
5. Some People Never Know [Rough Mix]
6. I Am Your Singer [Rough Mix]
7. Tomorrow [Rough Mix]
8. Dear Friend [Rough Mix]

CD3 – Bonus Tracks:
1. Good Rockin’ Tonight [Home Recording]
2. Bip Bop [Home Recording]
3. Hey Diddle [Home Recording]
4. She Got It Good [Home Recording]
5. I Am Your Singer [Home Recording]
6. Outtake I
7. Dear Friend [Home Recording I]
8. Dear Friend [Home Recording II]
9. Outtake II
10. Indeed I Do
11. When The Wind Is Blowing
12. The Great Cock And Seagull Race [Rough Mix]
13. Outtake III
14. Give Ireland Back To The Irish
15. Give Ireland Back To The Irish (Version)
16. Love Is Strange [Single Edit]
17. African Yeah Yeah

DVD – Bonus Video:
1. Scotland, 1971
2. The Ball
3. ICA Rehearsals
4. Give Ireland Back To The Irish (Rehearsal)

Red Rose Speedway Track List

CD1 – Remastered Album:
1. Big Barn Bed (2018 Remaster)
2. My Love (2018 Remaster)
3. Get On The Right Thing (2018 Remaster)
4. One More Kiss (2018 Remaster)
5. Little Lamb Dragonfly (2018 Remaster)
6. Single Pigeon (2018 Remaster)
7. When The Night (2018 Remaster)
8. Loup (1st Indian On The Moon) (2018 Remaster)
9. Medley: (2018 Remaster)
a) Hold Me Tight
b) Lazy Dynamite
c) Hands Of Love
d) Power Cut (2018 Remaster)

CD2 – “Double Album”:
1. Night Out
2. Get On The Right Thing
3. Country Dreamer
4. Big Barn Bed
5. My Love
6. Single Pigeon
7. When The Night
8. Seaside Woman
9. I Lie Around
10. The Mess [Live At The Hague]
11. Best Friend [Live In Antwerp]
12. Loup (1st Indian On The Moon)
13. Medley:
a) Hold Me Tight
b) Lazy Dynamite
c) Hands Of Love
d) Power Cut
14. Mama’s Little Girl
15. I Would Only Smile
16. One More Kiss
17. Tragedy
18. Little Lamb Dragonfly

CD3 – Bonus Audio:
1. Mary Had A Little Lamb
2. Little Woman Love
3. Hi, Hi, Hi
4. C Moon
5. Live And Let Die
6. Get On The Right Thing [Early Mix]
7. Little Lamb Dragonfly [Early Mix]
8. Little Woman Love [Early Mix]
9. 1882 [Home Recording]
10. Big Barn Bed [Rough Mix]
11. The Mess
12. Thank You Darling
13. Mary Had A Little Lamb [Rough Mix]
14. 1882 [Live In Berlin]
15. 1882
16. Jazz Street
17. Live And Let Die [Group Only, Take 10]

DVD 1 – Bonus Video:
1. Music Videos
2. James Paul McCartney TV Special
3. Live And Let Die [Live In Liverpool]
4. Newcastle Interview

DVD 2 – Bonus Film:
The Bruce McMouse Show
5.1 Surround Dolby Digital, 16bit 48kHz/PCM Stereo, 24bit 48kHz

Blu-ray – Bonus Film:
The Bruce McMouse Show
5.1 Surround DTS-HD Master Audio, 24bit 96kHz/PCM Stereo 24bit 96kHz

Wings Over Europe Track List

  1. Big Barn Bed [Live In Newcastle]
    2. Eat At Home [Live At The Hague]
    3. Smile Away [Live In Berlin]
    4. Bip Bop [Live At The Hague]
    5. Mumbo [Live In Antwerp]
    6. Blue Moon Of Kentucky [Live At The Hague]
    7. 1882 [Live In Berlin]
    8. I Would Only Smile [Live In Antwerp]
    9. Give Ireland Back To The Irish [Live In Groningen]
    10. The Mess [Live In Berlin]
    11. Best Friend [Live In Antwerp]
    12. Soily [Live In Berlin]
    13. I Am Your Singer [Live At The Hague]
    14. Seaside Woman [Live In Groningen]
    15. Wild Life [Live At The Hague]
    16. My Love [Live At The Hague]
    17. Mary Had A Little Lamb [Live At The Hague]
    18. Maybe I’m Amazed [Live In Groningen]
    19. Hi, Hi, Hi [Live At The Hague]
    20. Long Tall Sally [Live In Groningen]

In This Article: Paul McCartney, Wings


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.