Paul McCartney to Reissue More Wings Albums With Unreleased Material - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Paul McCartney to Reissue More Wings Albums With Unreleased Material

‘Venus and Mars’ and ‘At the Speed of Sound’ set for release this fall

Paul McCartney, Linda McCartney, Wings.Paul McCartney, Linda McCartney, Wings.

Paul and Linda McCartney of Wings.

Getty Images.

Paul McCartney will continue to add to his Archive reissue series with two Wings albums this fall. The group’s 1975 LP, Venus and Mars, which contains the single “Listen to What the Man Said,” and the following year’s Wings at the Speed of Sound, home to “Silly Love Songs” and “Let ‘Em In,” will be available as remastered deluxe editions with a wealth of bonus material.

Paul McCartney: The Long and Winding Q&A

Both albums will be available on November 4th as a two-disc set, with one containing the original album and a second with demos and unreleased tracks. A three-disc edition will also include a hardback book alongside unpublished photographs, new interviews with McCartney, track-by-track info and a bonus DVD containing footage from the time of each release. The albums will also be available as gatefold vinyl releases and as deluxe digital releases, in Mastered for iTunes and high-res formats.

McCartney personally supervised the production of both reissues, the remastering for which was done at Abbey Road by the same team that remastered the Beatles’ discography. McCartney began his Archive collection in 2010 and has so far won two Grammy Awards for the releases, taking home Best Historical Album for Band on the Run in 2012 and Best Boxed for Special Edition Package for Wings Over America this year.

Here are the track listings for the two albums:

Venus and Mars

CD One: Remastered Album

1. Venus and Mars
2. Rock Show
3. Love in Song
4. You Gave Me the Answer
5. Magneto and Titanium Man
6. Letting Go
7. Venus and Mars – Reprise
8. Spirits of Ancient Egypt
9. Medicine Jar
10. Call Me Back Again
11. Listen to What the Man Said
12. Treat Her Gently – Lonely Old People
13. Crossroads

CD Two: Bonus Audio

1. Junior’s Farm
2. Sally G
3. Walking in the Park With Eloise
4. Bridge on the River Suite
5. My Carnival
6. Going to New Orleans (My Carnival)
7. Hey Diddle (Ernie Winfrey Mix)
8. Let’s Love
9. Soily (From One Hand Clapping)
10. Baby Face (From One Hand Clapping)
11. Lunch Box/Odd Sox
12. 4th of July
13. Rock Show (Old Version)
14. Letting Go (Single Edit)

DVD: Bonus Film

1. Recording My Carnival
2. Bon Voyageur
3. Wings at Elstree
4. Venus and Mars TV Ad

Paul McCartney: Best of the Solo Years

At the Speed of Sound

CD One: Remastered Album

1. Let ‘Em In
2. the Note You Never Wrote
3. She’s My Baby
4. Beware My Love
5. Wino Junko
6. Silly Love Songs
7. Cook of the House
8. Time to Hide
9. Must Do Something About It
10. San Ferry Anne
11. Warm and Beautiful

CD Two: Bonus Audio

1. Silly Love Songs (Demo)
2. She’s My Baby (Demo)
3. Message to Joe
4. Beware My Love (John Bonham Version)
5. Must Do Something About It (Paul’s Version)
6. Let ‘Em In (Demo)
7. Warm and Beautiful (Instrumental Demo)

DVD: Bonus Film

1. Silly Love Songs Music Video
2. Wings Over Wembley
3. Wings in Venice

In This Article: Paul McCartney


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.