Paul McCartney Preps 'Tug of War,' 'Pipes of Peace' Reissues - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Paul McCartney Preps ‘Tug of War,’ ‘Pipes of Peace’ Reissues

Multi-disc sets boast previously unreleased demos, outtakes from classic early Eighties albums

paul mccartneypaul mccartney

Paul McCartney's expansive reissue series will continue with his early Eighties efforts, 'Tug of War' and 'Pipes of Peace'

Robert R. McElroy/Getty

Paul McCartney‘s early Eighties efforts, Tug of War and Pipes of Peace, will be reissued on October 2nd, with both arriving as multi-disc sets boasting numerous previously unreleased demos and outtakes.

Both Tug of War and Pipes of Peace feature a number of classic McCartney cuts, including his duets with Stevie Wonder (“Ebony and Ivory”) and Michael Jackson (“Say Say Say”), as well as solo hits like “Take It Away” and the John Lennon tribute, “Here Today.” Pre-orders for both albums are available now.

Tug of War, released in 1982, was McCartney’s third solo LP and first after Wings broke up. The two-CD reissue of the critically acclaimed, Number One record will feature a new remix of the entire album, as well as eight previously unreleased tracks, including a solo rendition of “Ebony and Ivory” and outtakes, “Stop, You Don’t Know Where She Came From” and “Something That Didn’t Happen.”

A three-CD, one-DVD edition will also include original music videos for the album’s singles, as well as an 18-minute documentary, Fly TIA—Behind The Scenes on Take It Away. A 112-page essay book and 64-page scrapbook will also arrive with the deluxe edition, while the super deluxe set — limited to 1,000 copies — will come in an acrylic slipcase with five prints of images from Linda McCartney’s archive.

Meanwhile, the two-CD set of Pipes of Peace — which originally arrived in 1983 — will come with a nine-track bonus disc featuring a new remix of “Say Say Say” by Spike Stent, as well as outtakes “It’s Not On,” “Simple As That,” and the previously unreleased “Christian Bop.”

The two-CD, one-DVD version will boast original promotional clips for the LP’s three singles, as well as rare, unreleased footage from McCartney’s film archive. Another essay book will also be included, as will a 64-page book detailing the “Pipes of Peace” video shoot.

Along with the various multi-disc versions, both albums will be reissued as two-LP sets on 180-gram vinyl. The reissues of Tug of War and Pipes of Peace are available to pre-order now. They mark the latest installments in the ongoing Paul McCartney Archive Collection, which began with the re-release of McCartney and Wings’ 1973 LP, Band on the Run.

McCartney has been on the road for much of the past two years in support of his 2013 LP, New. Having wrapped up another European leg of his Out There world tour earlier this month, he’s scheduled to headline Lollapalooza in Chicago this weekend.

Tug of War Bonus Audio

1. Stop, You Don’t Know Where She Came From [Demo] (previously unreleased)
2. Wanderlust [Demo] (previously unreleased)
3. Ballroom Dancing [Demo] (previously unreleased) 
4. Take It Away [Demo] (previously unreleased)
5. The Pound Is Sinking [Demo] (2015 Remaster) 
6. Something That Didn’t Happen [Demo] (previously unreleased)
7. Ebony and Ivory [Demo] (previously unreleased)
8. Dress Me Up As a Robber/Robber Riff [Demo] (previously unreleased)
9. Ebony and Ivory [Solo Version] (B-side of Ebony and Ivory 12” single)
10. Rainclouds (B-side of Ebony and Ivory 7” single) 
11. I’ll Give You a Ring (B-side of Take It Away single)

Tug of War Bonus Film

1. Tug of War Music Video (Version 1)
2. Tug of War Music Video (Version 2)
3. Take It Away Music Video
4. Ebony and Ivory Music Video
5. Fly TIA – Behind The Scenes on Take It Away

Pipes of Peace Bonus Audio

1. Average Person [Demo] (previously unreleased)
2. Keep Under Cover [Demo] (previously unreleased)
3. Sweetest Little Show [Demo] (previously unreleased)
4. It’s Not On [Demo] (previously unreleased)
5. Simple As That [Demo] (previously unreleased)
6. Say Say Say [2015 Remix] (previously unreleased)
7. Ode to a Koala Bear (B-side of “Say Say Say” single)
8. Twice in a Lifetime (bonus track from 1993)
9. Christian Bop (previously unreleased)

Pipes of Peace DVD

1. Pipes of Peace Music Video
2. So Bad Music Video
3. Say Say Say Music Video
4. Hey Hey in Montserrat (previously unreleased home movie footage)
5. Behind the Scenes at AIR Studios (previously unreleased 6 min edit)
6. The Man (previously unreleased home movie footage)

In This Article: Paul McCartney


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.