Paul McCartney Preps 3-Disc Collector's Edition of 'New' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Paul McCartney Loads ‘New’ Collector’s Edition With B-Sides, Doc

Three-disc set will feature previously unreleased songs and documentary tracing LP’s promotional cycle

Paul McCartney livePaul McCartney live

Paul McCartney performs at Dodger Stadium on August 10th, 2014 in Los Angeles, CA.

Lester Cohen/WireImage

Paul McCartney is offering fans something New with a special 2CD/DVD collector’s edition of his latest LP. The set, out October 28th, will be packaged in a hard-bound book and feature a variety of bonus materials – including behind-the-scenes footage, music videos, concert recordings, previously unreleased tracks and an album documentary. 

While the first of the two CDs features the same tracklist as the 14-track deluxe edition from last year, the second disc includes an array of enticing extras: two previously unreleased songs (“Hell to Pay” and “Demons Dance”) from the recording sessions, the Japanese bonus track “Struggle” and live versions of four New cuts (“Save Us,” “New,” “Queenie Eye” and “Everybody Out There”) recorded at Japan’s Tokyo Dome last November. 

The Don Letts-directed doc, “Something New,” traces New‘s creative evolution by featuring commentary from McCartney and the album’s four producers: Paul Epworth, Mark Ronson, Ethan Johns and Giles Martin. Additional behind-the-scenes material focuses on the former Beatle‘s whirlwind international promotional stint behind the LP, including performances on Jimmy Kimmel Live! and Late Night With Jimmy Fallon

The full tracklist for the New deluxe edition is below:

Disc 1
1. “Save Us”
2. “Alligator”
3. “On My Way To Work”
4. “Queenie Eye”
5. “Early Days”
6. “New”
7. “Appreciate”
8. “Everybody Out There”
9. “Hosanna”
10. “I Can Bet”
11. “Looking At Her”
12. “Road”
13. “Turned Out”
14. “Get Me Out Of Here Plus Scared” (Hidden Track) 

Disc 2
1. “Struggle” (previously available only in Japan) 
2. “Hell To Pay” (previously unreleased)
3. “Demons Dance” (previously unreleased)
4. “Save Us” (Live at Tokyo Dome 2013)
5. “New” (Live at Tokyo Dome 2013)
6. “Queenie Eye” (Live at Tokyo Dome 2013)
7. “Everybody Out There” (Live at Tokyo Dome 2013) 

Disc 3 (DVD)
1. Something New
2. New Interview (Bang & Olufsen Presents The Living Room Tour: Launching Paul McCartney’s Album New)

3. The Promo Tour
     3.1. MGM Grand for iHeartRadio Music Festival, Las Vegas, 21st September 2013
     3.2. Hollywood Boulevard with Jimmy Kimmel, Los Angeles, 23rd September 2013
     3.3. NBC Studios with Jimmy Fallon, New York, 7th October 2013
     3.4. Times Square, New York, 10th October 2013
     3.5. The Shard, London, 15th October 2013
     3.6. BBC Maida Vale Studios, London, 16th October 2013
     3.7. The London Studios with Graham Norton, London, 17th October 2013
     3.8. Covent Garden and HMV Oxford Street, London, 18th October 2013 

4. Music Videos
     4.1. “Queenie Eye”
     4.2. “Save Us”
     4.3. “Appreciate”
     4.4. “Early Days”
     4.5. “Making Of Queenie Eye”
     4.6. “Making Of Appreciate”
     4.7. “Making Of Early Days”

In This Article: Paul McCartney


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.