Ono, Kravitz Wake Up - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Ono, Kravitz Wake Up

Political songs featured on new compilation

Wake Up Everybody, a compilation of politically minded songs, will arrive in stores September 21st. The album’s title track is Kenneth “Babyface” Edmonds’ re-recording of the Harold Melvin and the Blue Notes’ 1975 hit. The new version features Mary J. Blige, Missy Elliott, Jaheim and Nate Dogg.

The compilation also includes Yoko Ono’s “Give Peace a Chance 2004” — a remix of John Lennon’s 1969 song with Ono’s post-9/11, spoken-word lyrics — and previously released tracks from Lenny Kravitz, Emmylou Harris and the Roots. All proceeds from the album’s sales will benefit America Coming Together (ACT), a campaign to increase voter registration and support progressive candidates.

The Wake Up Everybody track listing:

“Wake Up Everybody,” Various Artists
“Give Peace a Chance 2004,” Yoko Ono

“Why (What’s Going On?),” The Roots
“Stop the Fighting,” Ellie Lawson
“Revolution,” Ben Jelen
“Hell to Pay,” Bonnie Raitt
“Freedom,” Jurassic 5
“Fear,” Lenny Kravitz
“Get It Together,” Seal
“Time in Babylon,” Emmylou Harris
“This Land is Your Land,” Everclear
“The Wind,” Matt Nathanson
“Change the World,” Eric Clapton and Babyface


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.