Offspring Break Off “Splinter” - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Offspring Break Off “Splinter”

New album set for December release

The Offspring will release Splinter, their seventh album
and first in three years, on December 9th.

“It sounds like an Offspring album,” frontman Dexter Holland
told Rolling Stone during production. “If you like ‘All I
Want’ or ‘Bad Habit,’ you might like a lot of these songs. We have
other songs that are a little more rocking, and then there are the
oddballs that don’t sound like anything.”

The California punks began writing the new tracks early last
year but didn’t get around to recording until this year. In March,
the Offspring announced that drummer Ron Welty had left the band.
Josh Freese (the Vandals) plays drums on all twelve of
Splinter‘s tracks.

Back in the fold, however, was producer Brendan O’Brien (Pearl
Jam, Rage Against the Machine) who recorded the Offspring’s last
set, 2000’s Conspiracy of One. “We get along with him
really well,” frontman Dexter Holland told Rolling

The album’s first single is “Hit That,” which has already made
its way to radio. The Offspring are planning to play a circuit of
radio festivals through the rest of the year, before heading to
Europe for a tour in January. With Freese doing duty with A Perfect
Circle, Atom Willard will be the band’s drummer.

Splinter track list:

The Noose
Long Way Home
Hit That
Race Against Myself
(Can’t Get My) Head Around You
The Worst Hangover Ever
Never Gonna Find Me
Lightning Rod
Spare Me the Details
Da Hui
When You’re in Prison


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.