Oasis Prep 'Be Here Now' Reissue Packed With Rare Demos - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Oasis Prep ‘Be Here Now’ Reissue Packed With Previously Unheard Demos

Manchester band unearths tapes from legendary 1996 sessions in Mustique

Oasis, Prep, Be Here Now, ReissueOasis, Prep, Be Here Now, Reissue

Oasis will continue their 'Chasing the Sun' reissue campaign with their third LP, 'Be Here Now,' which will include the previously unreleased "Mustique demos."

Jill Furmanovsky

Oasis will reissue their 1997 LP Be Here Now on October 7th via Big Brother Recordings, marking the third installment of their Chasing the Sun reissue campaign.

Like previous reissues of Definitely, Maybe and (What’s the Story) Morning Glory?, the Be Here Now release will feature a remastered version of the album and myriad extras. Notably, Oasis will finally release the apocryphal “Mustique demos,” 14 tracks recorded by Noel Gallagher and producer Owen Morris on the Caribbean island in 1996. Long thought lost, the tapes were recently unearthed in the Big Brother archives. 

Among the other nuggets on the Be Here Now reissue are an unreleased version of “Stand By Me” recorded at guitarist Paul Benjamin “Bonehead” Arthurs’ home studio, an acoustic cover of the Chemical Brothers’ “Setting Sun,” which Noel co-wrote and sang, and the live debut of “My Big Mouth” at Knebworth Park.

The reissue will also feature Gallagher’s 2016 “rethink” of Oasis’ hit, “D’You Know What I Mean?” The track is available to stream, and comes as an instant download with all album pre-orders.

In a statement, Gallagher said of the new mix, “As the years went by I’d started to accept that the songs on Be Here Now were in fact insanely long … too long! Someone (I can’t remember who) had the idea that we re-visit, re-edit the entire album for posterity’s sake. We got as far as the first track before we couldn’t be arsed anymore and gave up … it does sound fucking mega though.”

The Be Here Now reissue will be available digitally, on CD and vinyl with a download code for the bonus content. A three-CD set, featuring all the bonus content, and a “super deluxe” box set will also be available. The latter boasts the vinyl version, three-CD set, a hardback book with new liner notes, a 12-inch white label vinyl sampler of the Mustique demos and Oasis merchandise. A complete track list is below.

Be Here Now — Chasing the Sun Edition Track List

Disc 1: Be Here Now

1. “D’You Know What I Mean?”
2. “My Big Mouth”
3. “Magic Pie”
4. “Stand By Me”
5. “I Hope, I Think, I Know”
6. “The Girl In The Dirty Shirt”
7. “Fade In-Out”
8. “Don’t Go Away”
9. “Be Here Now”
10. “All Around The World”
11. “It’s Gettin’ Better (Man!!)”
12. “All Around The World (Reprise)”

Disc 2: B-sides & Extra Tracks

1. “Stay Young”
2. “The Fame”
3. “Flashbax”
4. “(I Got) The Fever”
5. “My Sister Lover”
6. “Going Nowhere”
7. “Stand By Me” (Live At Bonehead’s Outtake)
8. “Untitled” (Demo)
9. “Help!” (Live In LA)
10. “Setting Sun” (Live Radio Broadcast)
11. “If We Shadows” (Demo)
12. “Don’t Go Away” (Demo)
13. “My Big Mouth” (Live At Knebworth Park)
14. “D’You Know What I Mean?” (NG’s 2016 Rethink)

Disc 3: Mustique Demos

1. “D’You Know What I Mean?” (Mustique Demo)
2. “My Big Mouth” (Mustique Demo)
3. “My Sister Lover” (Mustique Demo)
4. “Stand By Me” (Mustique Demo)
5. “I Hope, I Think, I Know” (Mustique Demo)
6. “The Girl In The Dirty Shirt” (Mustique Demo)
7. “Don’t Go Away” (Mustique Demo)
8. “Trip Inside” (Be Here Now) (Mustique Demo)
9. “Fade In-Out” (Mustique Demo)
10. “Stay Young” (Mustique Demo)
11. “Angel Child” (Mustique Demo)
12. “The Fame” (Mustique Demo)
13. “All Around The World” (Mustique Demo)
14. “It’s Gettin’ Better (Man!!)” (Mustique Demo)

In This Article: Oasis


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.