New Order Announce New Album 'Music Complete' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

New Order Announce New Album ‘Music Complete’

Dance icons’ first LP in a decade will arrive this September

New Order

New Order will release their first album in 10 years this September when the dance icons return with new LP 'Music Complete.'

Nick Wilson

New Order will release their first album in 10 years when the dance icons return with their new LP Music Complete on September 25th. The band’s 10th studio album, their first since 2005’s Waiting for the Sirens’ Call, will also mark New Order’s first full-length release without longtime bassist Peter Hook, who left the group in 2007. However, Music Complete will feature the studio return of keyboardist Gillian Gilbert, who last appeared on 2001’s Get Ready.

The group produced all of the 11-track album except for three songs: Chemical Brothers’ Tom Rowlands worked on “Singularity” and “Unlearn This Hatred,” while revered dance producer Stuart Price contributed on closer “Superheated.” New Order’s longtime collaborator and artist Peter Saville – Joy Division’s Unknown Pleasures, Power, Corruption and Lies – once again provides the album’s art direction.

The group released a 30-second teaser video featuring a new song from the album:

Music Complete – the band’s first release on Mute – will be available on CD, digital download, black vinyl and a limited edition clear vinyl. New Order will also offer up an exclusive eight-piece deluxe vinyl collection that includes the album plus extended versions of all 11 tracks on colored vinyl. Check out the band’s official site for full pre-order information.

In January, singer-guitarist Bernard Sumner and drummer Stephen Morris spoke to Rolling Stone about their new LP. “We used to just play for hours jamming in the studio and then find a bit – a second – that wasn’t bad,” Morris said. “And then find another second that could go on top of that. Now we’ve become a bit more professional in recording, for better or for worse. We’re streamlined.”

“The lines have gotten a bit blurrier than they used to be,” Sumner added. “We’ve become songwriters instead of instrumentalists.”

Music Complete Track List

1. “Restless”
2. “Singularity”
3. “Plastic”
4. “Tutti Frutti”
5. “People On The High Line”
6. “Stray Dog”
7. “Academic”
8. “Nothing But A Fool”
9. “Unlearn This Hatred”
10. “The Game”
11. “Superheated”

In This Article: New Order


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.