Neil Young's 'A Letter Home' Coming Back As Deluxe Package - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Neil Young’s ‘A Letter Home’ Coming Back as Deluxe Package

New set will include alternate takes, vinyl discs and making-of DVD

Neil YoungNeil Young

Neil Young

Gary Miller/Getty Images

Neil Young’s lo-fi covers record A Letter Home was quietly released on vinyl through Jack White’s label Third Man Records just in time for Record Store Day last week, but on May 27th it’s coming back in a deluxe package that will include a CD, a download card, a making-of DVD and two vinyl records. The limited edition set will retail for $109.98, but a basic CD version will also be offered for $13.99. 

Neil Young’s Incredible Carnegie Hall Shows: 10 Must-See Videos

A Letter Home – which features acoustic renditions of Bob Dylan’s “Girl From The North Country,” Willie Nelson’s “On The Road Again” and many other classics – was recorded at Third Man Records on a refurbished 1947 Voice-O-Graph recording booth. “Imagine a very simple recording studio not much larger than a phone booth and you’ll get the idea,” reads a press release. “Recorded live to track to one-track, mono, the album has an inherent warm, primitive feel of a vintage Folkways recording.” 

The deluxe edition of the album will also have a 32-page booklet and seven 6″ clear vinyl discs, one of which features an alternate take on Willie Nelson’s “Crazy.” 

Young also released a video for his cover of Bert Jansch’s “Needle of Death” for those who wish to see the Voice-O-Graph recording booth in action. 

Young recently wrapped up a solo acoustic North American tour at at the Chicago Theater. The shows centered mostly around Young’s early work, and featured the first live performance of the Rust Never Sleeps deep cut “Thrasher” since 1978. He heads to Europe in July for a tour with Crazy Horse.

A Letter Home Tracklist

1. A Letter Home intro
2. Changes (Phil Ochs)
3. Girl from the North Country (Bob Dylan)
4. Needle of Death (Bert Jansch)
5. Early Morning Rain (Gordon Lightfoot)
6. Crazy (Willie Nelson)
7. Reason to Believe (Tim Hardin)
8. On the Road Again (Willie Nelson)
9. If You Could Read My Mind (Gordon Lightfoot)
10. Since I Met You Baby (Ivory Joe Hunter)
11. My Hometown (Bruce Springsteen)
12. I Wonder If I Care as Much (Don Everly)


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.