Neil Young Preps New Album 'Peace Trail' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Neil Young Preps New Album ‘Peace Trail’

Primarily acoustic LP written, recorded after unconventional 2015 live album ‘Earth’

Neil YoungNeil Young

Neil Young will release a new album, 'Peace Trail,' featuring primarily acoustic songs this December.

Tim Mosenfelder/Getty

UPDATE: Young has pushed back his album release to December 9th.

Neil Young will release a new album, Peace Trail, December 2nd via Reprise Records.

Young wrote and recorded Peace Trail not long after the release of Earth, a massive record featuring songs recorded during his 2015 tour with Promise of the Real and mixed with wildlife sounds. The more conventional Peace Trail was recorded at Rick Rubin’s Shangri-la Studios and is reportedly a primarily acoustic effort, with Jim Keltner on drums and Paul Bushnell on bass. Young co-produced the LP with John Hanlon, who also mixed the record. 

Peace Trail is available to pre-order through Young’s website and online music store PONOMusic. All pre-orders come with an instant download of the title-track. Peace Trail will also be available on CD and cassette, while a vinyl edition will be released in January.

In September, Young released a new song and video for “Indian Givers” in support of Native American protests against the Dakota Access Pipeline. The track – which will appear on Peace Trail – was written at least two weeks prior to its release as it mentions Dale “Happy” American Horse Jr., a protestor arrested August 31st after chaining himself to construct equipment. 

Neil Young Peace Trail Track List

1. “Peace Trail”
2. “Can’t Stop Workin'”
3. “Indian Givers”
4. “Show Me”
5. “Texas Rangers”
6. “Terrorist Suicide Hang Gliders”
7. “John Oaks”
8. “My Pledge”
9. “Glass Accident”
10. “My New Robot”

In This Article: Neil Young


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.