Megadeth Detail New Album, 'Dystopia' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Megadeth Detail New Album, ‘Dystopia’

Upcoming record featuring new guitarist Kiko Loureiro and Lamb of God drummer Chris Adler will come out in new year



JazzArchivHamburg/Ullstein Bild


Shortly after releasing the thrashy new song “Fatal Illusion,” Megadeth have announced the release of their 15th studio album, Dystopia. The record will feature 11 new songs and come out digitally and on CD and LP on January 22nd.

The LP is the first to feature two new members, following the 2014 departures of lead guitarist Chris Broderick and drummer Shawn Drover, playing alongside frontman and producer Dave Mustaine and bassist David Ellefson. Guitarist Kiko Loureiro, who previously played with the power-metal group Angra, joined the fold earlier this year. Lamb of God drummer Chris Adler recorded the album with the group, though he is not a permanent Megadeth member. Additionally, Lamb of God producer Josh Wilbur engineered Dystopia in Nashville.

Regarding Loureiro, Mustaine told Rolling Stone earlier this year that “he’s an amazing musician, very well-rounded.” Of Adler, he said, “One of the things that was great about having Chris come in was he’s been a fan for 30 years and he was able to say, ‘Well, this is the stuff I like about my Megadeth,'” he said. “And it was, ‘OK, cool.'”

In the same interview, Mustaine said that he felt expectations from fans to replicate the sound on 1990’s Rust in Peace but that he wanted to create something new. Nevertheless, he said he found himself referencing songs on that previous album, as well as 1986’s Peace Sells … but Who’s Buying?, while in the studio, suggesting that the record will be more of a thrash-metal-leaning affair than the group’s recent records.

Although Megadeth will be touring throughout 2015, their only North American appearance will be in Toluca, Mexico. In October and November, the group will tour Asia, Australia and Europe.

Dystopia Track List:

1. “The Threat Is Real”
2. “Dystopia”
3. “Fatal Illusion”
4. “Death From Within”
5. “Bullet to the Brain”
6. “Post American World”
7. “Poisonous Shadows”
8. “Conquer or Die!”
9. “Lying in State”
10. “The Emperor”
11. “Foreign Policy”

In This Article: Megadeth


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.