McGraw, “O Brother” Win at CMAs - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

McGraw, “O Brother” Win at CMAs

Awards show honors past and present styles

Country music honored a return to its roots at the Country Music Association’s thirty-fifth annual awards show and celebration last night at the Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville. Although Tim McGraw took the evening’s top prize, Entertainer of the Year, the old-time music soundtrack to O Brother Where Art Thou? was the evening’s big winner, taking awards for Album of the Year and Single of the Year for “I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow,” as performed by the film’s fictional Soggy Bottom Boys (singer Dan Tyminski off-screen).

The look back to country music’s past was also reflected in a number of the live music pairings. Garth Brooks and George Jones sang their duet, “Beer Run,” from Jones’ new album, The Rock: Stone Cold Country, while Brad Paisley was joined by Jones, Buck Owens and “Whisperin'” Bill Anderson for his “Too Country,” from Paisley’s latest album, Part II), which earned the crew an award for Vocal Event of the Year.

The 2001 Country Music Association Awards winners:

Entertainer of the Year
Tim McGraw

Male Vocalist of the Year
Toby Keith

Female Vocalist of the Year
Lee Ann Womack

Horizon Award
Keith Urban

Vocal Group of the Year

Vocal Duo of the Year
Brooks and Dunn

Single of the Year
“I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow,” the Soggy Bottom Boys featuring Dan Tyminski

Album of the Year
Various Artists, O Brother Where Art Thou?

Song of the Year
“Murder on Music Row,” Larry Cordle, Larry Shell

Vocal Event of the Year
“Too Country,” Brad Paisley with George Jones, Buck Owens and Bill Anderson

Musician of the Year
Dann Huff

Video of the Year
“Born to Fly,” Sara Evans


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.