See New Clip for Maya Angelou's 'Still I Rise' for Black History Month - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

See the New Video for Maya Angelou’s ‘Still I Rise,’ Released for Black History Month

Reimagined track is off 2014 posthumous LP Caged Bird Songs

Smooch Music has dropped a new video for Maya Angelou’s “Still I Rise,” released in celebration of Black History Month.

The video features Angelou’s voice reading the iconic poem across hip-hop beats — “You may shoot me with your words/You may cut me with your eyes/You may kill me with your hatefulness/But still, like dust, I’ll rise” — as footage of the Civil Rights Movement and current protests play.

The track is off Caged Bird Songs, a posthumous album released in 2014. A deluxe edition of the record will be released in support of Black Lives Matter; you can pre-save it here. The single, which Smooch Music released with Vydia, will be officially released on Friday. Proceeds will be given to the Maya Angelou Foundation.

“Music was such a huge part of my grandmother’s life,” Colin A. Johnson, Angelou’s grandson and founder of Caged Bird Legacy, said in a statement. “She loved everything, from pop to country and, of course, hip-hop. With her dedication to social activism and how she illuminated the struggles and injustices of the urban experience through prose, there’s a direct correlation to hip-hop today.”

Caged Bird Songs Tracklist:

1. Public Ear
2. Human Family
3. Pow Pow
4. Sepia Fashion Show
5. Harlem Hopscotch
6. Pickin’ Em Up
7. On Aging
8. Ain’t That Bad
9. One More Round
10. Come and Be My Baby
11. The Thirteens
12. Africa
13. Life Doesn’t Frighten Me
14. Still I Rise
15. In and Out of Time
16. Song for the Old Ones
17. Take Time Out
18. Pilgrim of Sorrow

In This Article: Black History Month, Maya Angelou


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.