Marilyn Manson Details New Album 'The Pale Emperor' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Marilyn Manson Details New Album ‘The Pale Emperor’

The 10-track album will come out early next year

Marilyn MansonMarilyn Manson

Marilyn Manson

Marilyn Manson has confirmed the details of his upcoming ninth album, The Pale Emperor. Late last month, the goth-metal singer shared the punkish, depressing first single from the record – “Third Day of a Seven Day Binge” – and now he has revealed the other nine on the record, which is due out on January 20th. The iTunes edition of the album comes with three additional tracks – “Day 3,” “Fated, Faithful, Fatal” and “Fall of the House of Death.”

In October and early November, Manson played a handful of concerts in southern California, where he gave three Pale Emperor tracks – “Third Day,” “Cupid Carries a Gun” and “Deep Six” – their live debuts. One of those shows took place on Halloween at the West Hollywood club the Roxy, and Manson was joined by special guests Johnny Depp and Ninja from Die Antwoord for his encore performance of “The Beautiful People.”

Depp has played guitar with Manson a couple of times in recent years. In 2012, the actor made a surprise appearance during the singer’s headlining set at the Revolver Golden Gods Awards to play “The Beautiful People.” That same year, Depp played guitar on Manson’s cover of Carly Simon’s “You’re So Vain,” which was included among the bonus cuts of Manson’s last record, Born Villain.

Manson himself has been busy acting recently. Earlier this year, he appeared as white supremacist Ron Tully on Sons of Anarchy and voiced the character of Shadow on ABC’s Once Upon a Time. In recent years, he has made appearances on Californication, Eastbound and Down and Wrong Cops. Manson also contributed the Pale Emperor tracks “Cupid Carries a Gun” to the series Salem.

The Pale Emperor Track List:

1. “Killing Strangers”
2. “Deep Six”
3. “Third Day of a Seven Day Binge”
4. “The Mephistopheles of Los Angeles”
5. “Warship My Wreck”
6. “Slave Only Dreams to Be King”
7. “The Devil Beneath My Feet”
8. “Birds of Hell Awaiting”
9. “Cupid Carries a Gun”
10. “Odds of Even”

In This Article: Marilyn Manson


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.