Limited Edition David Bowie LPs Planned for Record Store Day - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Limited Edition David Bowie LPs Planned for Record Store Day

‘Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles 1974)’ and ‘Bowpromo’ available on April 22nd

David Bowie

Parlophone is releasing limited edition David Bowie LPs 'Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles 1974)' and 'Bowpromo' for Record Store Day.

Terry O'Neill/Getty

Parlophone has planned two limited edition David Bowie releases to commemorate the 10th anniversary of Record Store Day. As Pitchfork reports, Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles 1974) has never been released, while Bowpromo replicates a 1971 small-run pressing of alternate mixes of some of the songs that made it on to Hunky Dory.

Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles 1974) was recorded live at Universal Amphitheatre on September 5th 1974 during the Philly Dogs Tour. While some of the material also appeared in the Cracked Actor BBC documentary, the forthcoming triple vinyl, five-sided album contains the full concert. The sixth side houses an etching of the Diamond Dogs-era Bowie logo.

Mixed by longtime collaborator Tony Visconti, the set features a new band lineup and set list that differs from Bowie’s 1974 David Live album, and includes vocals from Luther Vandross.

Bowpromo is a single-sided release that recreates a rare 1971 pressing that featured seven Bowie tracks on its A-side, with five songs that ended up on Hunky Dory.

Both limited-edition releases will be available during Record Store Day on April 22nd.

Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles 1974) Track List

Side 1:
1. “Introduction”
2. “1984”
3. “Rebel Rebel”
4. “Moonage Daydream”
5. “Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing”

Side 2:
6. “Changes”
7. “Suffragette City”
8. “Aladdin Sane”
9. “All the Young Dudes”
10. “Cracked Actor”

Side 3:
11. “Rock ‘n’ Roll With Me”
12. “Knock on Wood”
13. “It’s Gonna Be Me”
14. “Space Oddity”

Side 4:
15. “Diamond Dogs”
16. “Big Brother”
17. “Time”

Side 5:
18. “The Jean Genie”
19. “Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide”
20. “John, I’m Only Dancing (Again)”

Bowpromo Track List

1. “Oh! You Pretty Things”
2. “Eight Line Poem”
3. “Kooks”
4. “It Ain’t Easy”
5. “Queen Bitch”
6. “Quicksand”
7. “Bombers/Andy Warhol Intro”

In This Article: David Bowie


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.