Lil Peep's Estate Announce Posthumous Album, Release 'Cry Alone' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Lil Peep’s Estate Announces Posthumous Album, Releases Tragic ‘Cry Alone’

Peep died earlier this year with unreleased music left in the vault, and some of his closest collaborators have prepped a follow up to ‘Come Over When You’re Sober, Pt. 1’

Lil Peep backstageHaider Ackermann show, Spring Summer 2018, Paris Fashion Week Men's, France - 21 Jun 2017Lil Peep backstageHaider Ackermann show, Spring Summer 2018, Paris Fashion Week Men's, France - 21 Jun 2017

Swan Gallet/WWD/REX Shutterstock

Bittersweet, somber and haunting, “Cry Alone” is peak Lil Peep. The song was recorded in 2017, before the young rapper’s death, and features him singing about the intersection of drugs and death. “I don’t wanna die alone right now, I just did a line of blow right now,” Peep says in his characteristic drawl during the track’s eerie hook.

“Cry Alone” is the first song from Peep’s second studio album, Come Over When You’re Sober Pt. 2, which will be released on November 9th. In a statement, the director of “Cry Alone” explained how the video came together over a year ago.

“Peep and I shot ‘Cry Alone’ back in May 2017. He originally thought it was going to be a track included on COWYS1, but it ended up fitting better on COWYS2 which inevitably postponed the video’s release,” Beck wrote. “It was around 1 A.M. when I saw Peep on Twitter asking if someone could bring him McDonalds in Berkeley…After listening to a few different songs and discussing ideas we chose ‘Cry Alone.’ ‘It just feels right,’ he said. ‘It’s the only song that fits the energy of the night.'”

Come Over When You’re Sober Pt. 2 is helmed by frequent Peep collaborators and producers, Smokeasac and George Astasio of IIVI.

“Gus was my best friend. Finishing COWYS2 without him is the hardest thing I have ever had to do,” Smokeasac said. “At times I didn’t want to finish it, some days it was just too hard to hear his voice and not have him right there beside me but when I got out of my own head, I could feel him there and that and his incredible fans are what got me through it.”

Lil Peep died of a drug overdose in November at 21-years old. Since his passing, posthumous songs like the controversial “Falling Down” featuring XXXTentacion have been released, but don’t appear to have made the tracklist to his upcoming album.

Come Over When You’re Sober, Pt. 2 tracklist:

  1. Broken Smile (My All)
  2. Runaway
  3. Sex with My Ex
  4. Cry Alone
  5. Leanin’
  6. 16 Lines
  7. Life is Beautiful
  8. Hate Me
  9. IDGAF
  10. White Girl
  11. Finger

In This Article: Hip-Hop, Lil Peep


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.