'Let Her Go' Singer Passenger Plots Introspective New LP - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

‘Let Her Go’ Singer Passenger Plots Introspective New LP

Singer-songwriter Mike Rosenberg previews eighth album, ‘Young as the Morning, Old as the Sea,’ with breezy single “Somebody’s Love”

passenger, passenger album, passenger let her go, passenger song, passenger somebody's love, passenger record, passenger new song, passenger new album

"Let Her Go" singer-songwriter Passenger will release his eighth LP, 'Young as the Morning, Old as the Sea,' this fall.

Jarrad Seng

Passenger, the singer-songwriter best known for his ubiquitous 2012 single, “Let Her Go,” will release his eighth studio album, Young as the Morning, Old as the Sea, on September 23rd via Nettwerk. Passenger (Mike Rosenberg) co-produced the LP alongside previous collaborator Chris Vallejo (INXS, Empire of the Sun) at Neil Finn’s Roundhead Studios in Auckland, New Zealand and Linear Studios in Sydney.

Rosenberg previewed the album with the breezy lead single “Somebody’s Love,” full of shimmering acoustics and steel guitar. The track is similar to the folky atmosphere that propelled “Let Her Go” into multi-platinum chart success and a spot on YouTube’s Billion-View Club. The James Lees-directed clip for “Somebody’s Love” finds Rosenberg calmly crooning romantic lyrics in a boat consumed by flames.

“[The video] was all shot on a lake in Iceland, and, yes, we actually set the boat on fire… with me in it…” Rosenberg wrote in a statement. 

Young as the Morning, Old as the Sea – which follows 2015’s Whispers II  is available to pre-order via the Passenger website. All orders are bundled with a free instant download of “Somebody’s Love.” Rosenberg will perform a brief run of shows in the U.S. and Canada in July and August, and a full-scale North American tour is planned for early 2017. 

Young As The Morning, Old As The Sea Track List

1. “Everything”
2. “If You Go”
3. “When We Were Young”
4. “Anywhere”
5. “Somebody’s Love”
6. “Young As The Morning Old As The Sea”
7. “Beautiful Birds (featuring BIRDY)”
8. “The Long Road”
9. “Fool’s Gold”
10. “Home”

In This Article: Passenger


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.