Leonard Cohen Live Album 'Can't Forget' to Feature New Songs - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Leonard Cohen Live Album ‘Can’t Forget’ to Feature Two New Songs

LP will also feature previously unreleased cover of George Jones’ “Choices”

Leonard CohenLeonard Cohen

Leonard Cohen will release the live album 'Can't Forget' featuring two new songs.

Simone Joyner/Redferns/Getty

A new Leonard Cohen live album, Can’t Forget: A Souvenir of the Grand Tour, will feature two tunes the singer-songwriter has not released anywhere else and two previously unreleased covers.

New songs “Never Gave Nobody Trouble” and “Got a Little Secret” feature midway through the LP, recorded onstage and during soundchecks of his Old Ideas World Tour, and his takes on Georges Dor’s Quebecois love song “La Manic” and George Jones’ “Choices.” The rest of Can’t Forget, Cohen’s second live album since the release of 2014’s Popular Problems, contains many infrequently played tunes from throughout Cohen’s career.

Late last year, Cohen released the LP and video release Live in Dublin, which, as the title suggests, showcases his three-hour performance at Irish capital’s O2 Arena in 2013. But before that, he put out the studio album Popular Problems. The record won Album of the Year at Canada’s Juno Awards, the country’s analog to the Grammys, earlier this month.

In an interview with Rolling Stone around the time of Popular Problems, he explained how he knows when a song is working. “You can pretty well tell,” Cohen said. “We play it for select people, like my daughter – there’s a few people who aren’t afraid to tell you that it isn’t working. We had another song on the album, which was called ‘Happens to the Heart,’ which will be on the next album. It’s a very good lyric, a very good tune, but we didn’t nail it. So we didn’t put each other on about it – not for more than a week or two.”

Can’t Forget is due out May 12th.

Can’t Forget: A Souvenir of the Grand Tour Track List:

1. “Field Commander Cohen”
2. “I Can’t Forget”
3. “Light as the Breeze”
4. “La Manic”
5. “Night Comes On”
6. “Never Gave Nobody Trouble”
7. “Joan of Arc”
8. “Got a Little Secret”
9. “Choices”
10. “Stages”

In This Article: Leonard Cohen


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.