Led Zeppelin Announce Super-Deluxe 'Physical Graffiti' Reissue - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Led Zeppelin Announce Super-Deluxe ‘Physical Graffiti’ Reissue

The reissue, which contains a disc of bonus material, will arrive on the 40th anniversary of the original release in February

Led ZeppelinLed Zeppelin

Led Zeppelin in 1975, the year that the group's soon-to-be reissued 'Physical Graffiti' came out.


Led Zeppelin‘s 1975 double-album Physical Graffiti will be the next LP from the group’s canon to get a super-deluxe release, following reissues of the band’s first five albums last year. The new edition, which guitarist and producer Jimmy Page has remastered, will come out on the 40th anniversary of the original record’s release date, February 24th. Like the other reissues, deluxe editions of the album contain an album-length bonus disc of companion audio, containing early takes and alternate mixes of songs on the album, which is home to classics like “Kashmir” and “Trampled Under Foot.”

The album will be available in a variety of formats, including a standard double CD, a deluxe edition with the companion audio, a double-LP, a deluxe vinyl release, digital download (available in standard and high-def formats) and as a super deluxe box set. The latter version will contain CDs of the deluxe edition, the deluxe vinyl, a download card, a hard-bound, 96-page book containing rare and previously uncirculated photos and memorabilia, and a high-quality print of the album cover.

The Physical Graffiti bonus disc contains seven previously unreleased tracks. Among them are rough mixes of “Trampled Under Foot” (titled “Brandy & Coke”), “In My Time of Dying” and “House of the Holy,” the latter of which contains overdubs. It also contains an early version of “Sick Again,” a Sunset Sound mix of “Boogie With Stu” and a rough orchestra mix of “Kashmir” that’s titled “Driving Through Kashmir” on the release. “Everybody Makes It Through” is what the label describes as a “strikingly different” early take of “In the Light,” complete with different lyrics. 

Led Zeppelin

In 2012, Page revealed to Rolling Stone that he was in the process of remastering the group’s catalog and that he had dug up some interesting rarities. “The classic there was ‘When the Levee Breaks,'” Page said, referring to a Led Zeppelin IV track, “where the drums were set up in the hallway. You know what it sounded like – immense – from the recorded version. But we used the drums in the hall for a number of things, like ‘Kashmir’ [on 1975’s Physical Graffiti] – some with closer miking. So there were a lot of different approaches. It will be fascinating for people to witness the work in progress.”

Last year, the guitarist told Rolling Stone why the group decided to quit, following the death of John Bonham in 1980, rather than regroup permanently with a new drummer. “Led Zeppelin wasn’t a corporate entity,” Page said. “Led Zeppelin was an affair of the heart. Each of the members was important to the sum total of what we were. I like to think that if it had been me that wasn’t there, the others would have made the same decision. And what were we going to do? Create a role for somebody, say, ‘You have to do this, this way?’ That wouldn’t be honest.”

Physical Graffiti (Companion Audio)

1. “Brandy & Coke,” “Trampled Under Foot” – Initial Rough Mix
2. “Sick Again,” Early Version
3. “In My Time of Dying,” Initial Rough Mix
4. “Houses of the Holy,” Rough Mix With Overdubs
5. “Everybody Makes It Through,” “In The Light” Early Version/In Transit
6. “Boogie With Stu,” Sunset Sound Mix
7. “Driving Through Kashmir,” “Kashmir” Rough Orchestra Mix


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.