Kurt Vile Brings Breezy 'Mount Airy Hill (Way Gone)' to 'Colbert' - Rolling Stone
×
×
Home Music Music News

Kurt Vile and The Violators Bring Breezy ‘Mount Airy Hill (Way Gone)’ to ‘Colbert’

Singer-songwriter recently appeared on an episode of Rolling Stone Music Now where he discussed his love of Miley Cyrus and recording a Bruce Springsteen cover

Kurt Vile and The Violators visited The Late Show With Stephen Colbert Wednesday, offering audiences a taste of Vile’s latest album Watch My Moves with a performance of easygoing single “Mount Airy Hill (Way Gone).”

The singer-songwriter also performed a cover of the John Prine song “How Lucky” — which appeared on Vile’s 2020 EP Speed, Sound, Lonely KV — for a web-only video.

“Mount Airy Hill (Way Gone)” finds Vile paying homage to the eponymous Philadelphia neighborhood where the musician recorded Watch My Moves — his ninth studio full-length. In a review of the record, Rolling Stone said the album finds Vile as he “stretches out and gets comfortable on his loosey-goosiest jams to date,

Vile recently appeared on an episode of Rolling Stone Music Now where he discussed his love of Miley Cyrus and recording a Bruce Springsteen cover for his latest record. Last year, he contributed a version of “Run Run Run” to a Velvet Underground tribute album and co-produced the Dinosaur Jr. album Sweep It Into Space.

The Pennsylvania native will make several festival appearances throughout the summer before embarking on a tour of the U.K. and Europe that kicks off Aug. 26 in London and wraps Sept. 20 in Paris.

Kurt Vile Tour Dates

Thu. June 22 – Santa Fe, NM @ Railyard Park
Thu. July 7 – Oakbank, ON @ Winnipeg Folk Fest
Sat. July 9 -Toronto, ON @ Field Trip
Thu. Aug. 4 – Saint Charles, IA @ Hinterland Music Festival
Tue. Aug. 23 – Helsinki, FI @ Helsinki Festival
Fri. Aug. 26 – London, UK @ All Points East
Sat. Aug. 27 – Bath, UK @ The Forum
Sun. Aug. 28 – Leeds, UK @ Stylus
Mon. Aug. 29 – Glasgow, UK @ qmu
Tue. Aug. 30 – Belfast, IE @ Limelight
Wed. Aug. 31 – Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street
Fri. Sept. 2 – Birmingham, UK @ Moseley Folk Festival
Sat. Sept. 3 – Manchester, UK @ Manchester Psych Fest
Sun. Sept. 4 – Salisbury, UK @ End of the Road Festival
Mon. Sept. 5 – Antwerpen, BE @ Openluchttheater Rivierenhof
Thu. Sept. 8 – Málaga, ES @ Andalucia Big Festival by Mad Cool
Sat. Sept. 10 – Madrid, ES @ Mad Cool Sunset
Mon. Sept. 12 – Köln, DE @ Gloria-Theater
Tue. Sept. 13 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Wed. Sept. 14 – Nijmegen, NL @ Open Air Theater de Goffert
Thu. Sept. 15 – Berlin, DE @ Huxleys Neue Welt
Fri. Sept. 16 – Copenhagen, DK @ The Grey Hall
Sat. Sept. 17 – Malmö, SE @ Plan B
Mon. Sept. 19 – Kortrijk, DE @ Evenementenhal Depart
Tue. Sept. 20 – Paris, FR @ Le Trianon
Wed. Oct. 12 – Richmond, VA @ The National, with Julia Shapira (of Chastity Belt)
Thu. Oct. 13 – Saxapahaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom, with Julia Shapira (of Chastity Belt)
Fri. Oct. 14 – Millersville, PA @ Phantom Power, with Julia Shapira (of Chastity Belt)
Sat. Oct. 15 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Sounds Series Block Party – Warhol, with Julia Shapira (of Chastity Belt)
Sun. Oct. 16 – Cincinnati, OH @ Andrew J. Brady ICON Music Center, with Julia Shapira (of Chastity Belt)
Tue. Oct. 18 – Louisville, KY @ Paristown Hall, with Julia Shapira (of Chastity Belt)
Wed. Oct. 19 – Lawrence, KS @ Liberty Hall, with Julia Shapira (of Chastity Belt)
Thu. Oct. 20 – Omaha, NE @ The Admiral, with Julia Shapira (of Chastity Belt)
Fri. Oct. 21 – St. Louis, MO @ The Pageant,  with Julia Shapira (of Chastity Belt)
Sat. Oct. 22 – Indianapolis, IN @ Egyptian Room at Old National Centre, with Julia Shapira (of Chastity Belt)
Sun. Oct. 23 – Kalamazoo, MI @ Bell’s Brewery, with Julia Shapira (of Chastity Belt)
Thu. Oct. 27 – Montreal, QC @ Corona Theatre, with Come
Sat. Oct. 29 – Providence, RI @ Columbus Theatre, with Come
Sun. Oct. 30 – Boston, MA @ Royale, with Come
Mon. Oct. 31 – Portland, ME @ State Theatre, with Come

Newswire

Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.