Kate Bush Preps Live Album of 2014 London Residency - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Kate Bush Preps Live Album of 2014 London Residency

Hear cinematic “Prologue” from upcoming three-CD set, ‘Before the Dawn’

Kate Bush, Plots, Massive, Live, Album, Before The Dawn

Kate Bush will release a new live album, 'Before the Dawn,' documenting her 2014 residency at London's Hammersmith Apollo.

Courtesy of Fish People

Kate Bush will release a new live album, Before the Dawn, which captures the titular three-act show she performed during her 22-day residency at London’s Hammersmith Apollo in 2014. The LP arrives November 25th via Concord/Fish People.

Before the Dawn is split into three discs, one for each set of the live show. The first boasts seven hits from throughout Bush’s career, the second centers around Bush’s seminal 1985 LP, Hounds of Love, while the third features selections from her 2005 double album, Aerial, and includes an unreleased song, “Tawny Moon.” 

Bush has also released her performance of Aerial‘s sprawling “Prologue,” which slowly builds from a delicate piano ode into an rousing orchestral ballad.

Before the Dawn will be available to pre-order as both a three-CD set or four-LP vinyl set. 

Bush’s “Before the Dawn” residency marked the reclusive British singer’s first live performances in 35 years. “I was really delighted that the shows were received so positively and so warmly, but the really unexpected part of it all was the audiences,” she wrote after the residency. “Audiences that you could only ever dream of. One of the main reasons for wanting to perform live again was to have contact with that audience. They took my breath away.”

As for Bush’s studio output, the singer has been silent since releasing two albums in 2011, Director’s Cut — a collection of reworked songs from The Sensual World and The Red Shoes — and 50 Words for Snow

Before the Dawn Track List

1. “Lily”
2. “Hounds Of Love”
3. “Joanni”
4. “Top Of The City”
5. “Never Be Mine”
6. “Running Up That Hill”
7. “King Of The Mountain”

CD 2
1. “Astronomer’s Call (Spoken Monologue)”
2. “And Dream Of Sheep”
3. “Under Ice”
4. “Waking The Witch”
5. “Watching Them Without Her (Dialogue)”
6. “Watching You Without Me”
7. “Little Light”
8. “Jig Of Life”
9. “Hello Earth”
10. “The Morning Fog

CD 3
1. “Prelude”
2. “Prologue”
3. “An Architect’s Dream”
4. “The Painter’s Link”
5. “Sunset”
6. “Aerial Tal”
7. “Somewhere In Between”
8. “Tawny Moon”
9. “Nocturn”
10. “Aerial”
11. “Among Angels”
12. “Cloudbusting”

In This Article: Kate Bush


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.