Kanye West: New Album Is 'Gospel Album With Whole Lot of Cursing' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Kanye West: New Album Is ‘Gospel Album With Whole Lot of Cursing’

Rapper says he hasn’t finalized a title for long-awaited seventh LP

Kanye WestKanye West

Kanye West called his new album, which still has no official title, "a gospel album with a whole lot of cursing on it," in an interview with Big Boy

Christopher Polk/Getty

UPDATE: Kanye West has announced the title of his new album, The Life of Pablo and shared the track list via Twitter. See track list below.

Kanye West teased his new album, tentatively titled Waves, as “a gospel album with a whole lot of cursing on it,” during an interview with radio host Big Boy.

“I’m tryna open up hearts, minds,” West said, noting he was playing the record for gospel star Kirk Franklin when the description struck. “It’s the gospel according to ‘Ye. Not exactly what happened in the Bible, but it’s a story of this idea of Mary Magdalene becoming Mary.”

West also noted that the record still does not have an official title, despite last week’s proclamation that he’d changed it from Swish to Waves. West suggested he might return to the album’s original title, So Help Me God, which his wife Kim Kardashian included in a recent Twitter poll asking fans which name they liked best.

“I wanted to get people’s opinions,” West said of the poll. “What I’ve come to realize about being a celebrity or a musician or someone that’s on the other side of the Internet or TV, everybody is our family … When people can tweet or comment or chime in or say the vibrations they felt about something, we can have this continued conversation. There were so many times in my career when people thought I was out of there, no more, but obviously I had made a connection with people, a family-level connection, that they played my music in their houses. And we love any opportunity to involve all of our family in the creative process.”

Despite the minutiae still left to be settled, West sounded giddy when speaking about his album’s impending release. Recalling the visit Kendrick Lamar and the rest of Top Dawg made to approve the final mix of “No More Parties in L.A.” before it was released, West said, “This ultra light beam that we on right now is all coming together for this package, this delivery, this three-year-in-the-making gift.”

West will debut his seventh LP at a Yeezy Season 3 event at Madison Square Garden on February 11th. The event will be broadcast live to movie theaters around the world starting at 4 p.m. ET; ticket information is available on West’s website.

The Life Of Pablo track list:

1. “Ultra Light Beams”
2. “Father Stretch My Hands Pt. 1 and Pt. 2”
3. “Freestyle 4”
4. “Famous”
5. “Highlights”
6. “Feedback”
7. “Fade”
8. “FML”
9. “Real Friends”
10. “Wolves”

In This Article: Kanye West


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.