Juliana Hatfield Three Reunite for New Album 'Whatever, My Love' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Juliana Hatfield Three Reunite for New Album ‘Whatever, My Love’

Reunited trio unveil first single “If I Could,” their first song together in more than 20 years

Juliana Hatfield Three

Todd Philips, Juliana Hatfield, Dean Fisher of Juliana Hatfield Three. The trio will release their new album, 'Whatever, My Love,' more than 20 years after their debut.

Tom Beaujour

It’s been an incredible year for alternative rock reunions, and it looks like that trend is going to carry over into 2015. Twenty-two years after the Juliana Hatfield Three released their influential 1993 LP Become What Your Are, the trio will finally follow up their debut with their long-awaited sophomore album, Whatever, My Love, on February 17th. Singer/guitarist Hatfield, drummer Todd Philips and bassist Dean Fisher also shared the album’s first single, the jangly and nostalgic “If I Could.”

While Hatfield remained prolific in the years following Become What You Are, that album – with its 120 Minutes smashes “My Sister” and “Spin the Bottle” – marked the only time the trio of Hatfield, Fisher and Philips would record together; only Fisher joined Hatfield on her 1995 solo album Only Everything – his last record with the singer – while Philips contributed drums to Hatfield’s 1998 disc Bed and 2000’s Beautiful Creature.

The Three recorded their 12-song new album at Hoboken, New Jersey’s Nuthouse Recording with Hatfield and Tom Beaujour co-producing. “We haven’t totally reinvented the wheel or anything,” Hatfield said of Whatever, My Love in a statement. “But I am a lot more confident now than I was with the first album…” Whatever, My Love is available for pre-order in various bundle packages at the American Laundromat Records site. The reformed band will embark on a North American tour starting in February.

The Juliana Hatfield Three joins a remarkable list of alt-rockers who have reunited in the past year, including Sleater-Kinney, Failure, Ride, Faith No More, Veruca Salt, Slowdive, Luna and, for two nights at least, Temple of the Dog.

Whatever, My Love Track List

1. “Invisible”
2. “Now That I Have Found You”
3. “Ordinary Guy”
4. “If Only We Were Dogs”
5. “I’m Shy”
6. “Dog On A Chain”
7. “If I Could”
8. “Push Pin”
9. “Blame The Stylist”
10. “I Don’t Know What To Do With My Hands”
11. “Wood”
12. “Parking Lots”

The group also announced details of  a three-week tour beginning in February, according to Brooklyn Vegan. All dates below:

February 26 – Portland, ME @ Port City Music Hall
February 27 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
March 1 – New York City @ The Bowery Ballroom
March 3 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle
March 4 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
March 6 – Cleveland, OH @ Music Box Supper Club
March 7 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
March 8 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
March 11 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern
March 12 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge
March 14 – Napa, CA @ City Winery Napa
March 15 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel
March 16 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Roxy Theatre

In This Article: Juliana Hatfield


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.