John Legend Reveals Personal Details About New Album - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

John Legend Reveals Personal Details About New Album ‘Darkness and Light’

Blake Mills-produced LP will blend social justice themes with songs about family life

John Legend Details New Album 'Manifesto' 'Darkness and Light'John Legend Details New Album 'Manifesto' 'Darkness and Light'

John Legend has detailed his new album 'Darkness and Light' featuring new song "Love Me Now."

Dove Shore

John Legend announced that his new album Darkness and Light, with first single “Love Me Now,” will arrive on December 2nd.

The album, the follow-up to Legend’s 2013 LP Love in the Future, features guest appearances from Chance the Rapper, Miguel, Kamasi Washington and Alabama Shakes’ Brittany Howard. That latter band’s Sound & Color producer Blake Mills played the same role on Legend’s new album.

Darkness and Light is John Legend’s manifesto,” Mills said in a statement. “Following the tradition of soul/R&B music that celebrates love and challenges indecency, Darkness and Light digs into John’s long-standing devotion to social justice, the challenges and rewards of a marriage constantly in the public eye and the recent birth of his first child, Luna. This record goes against the grain, boldly reminding us that though darkness is abound, it is the light that will ultimately push us forward.”

One track on Darkness and Light, “Right By You (for Luna),” is named after Legend and Chrissy Teigen’s child. In addition to the 12-song track list, the Target edition of Darkness and Light comes with three bonus tracks.

Darkness and Light John Legend Album Cover

Darkness and Light Track List

1. “I Know Better”
2. “Penthouse Floor” (feat. Chance the Rapper)
3. “Darkness and Light” (feat. Brittany Howard)
4. “Overload” (feat. Miguel)
5. “Love Me Now”
6. “What You Do to Me”
7. “Surefire”
8. “Right By You (for Luna)”
9. “Temporarily Painless”
10. “How Can I Blame You”
11. “Same Old Story”
12. “Marching Into the Dark”
13. “Drawing Lines”*
14. “What You Do to Me” (Piano Demo)*
15. “Love You Anyway”* 

* Target exclusive tracks

In This Article: John Legend


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.