John Frusciante Prepping Electronic LP Under the Name Trickfinger - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

John Frusciante Preps ‘Experimental’ Electronic LP

Former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist will release music under the name Trickfinger in April

John Frusciante

Former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante is prepping the release of an electronic album under the name Trickfinger.

Noel Vasquez/Getty

Former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante is venturing into “experimental acid house” with a new self-titled LP under the moniker Trickfinger. The album, a continuation of his recent foray into electronica, will be released April 7th via Acid Test, Resident Advisor reports

“I started being serious about following my dream to make electronic music, and to be my own engineer, five years ago,” Frusciante said in a 2012 statement included with the new album. “For the 10 years prior to that, I had been playing guitar along with a wide range of different types of programmed synthesizer and sample-based music, emulating what I heard as best as I could. I found that the languages machines forced programmers to think in had caused them to discover a new musical vocabulary.”

The sonic explorer said his fixation with acid house developed further in 2007, when he learned how to program commonly used instruments and hardware. “I had lost interest in traditional songwriting, and I was excited about finding new methods of creating music,” he continues, noting that this new music de-emphasizes his rock skills. “I’d surround myself with machines, program one and then another and enjoy what was a fascinating process from beginning to end.”

Frusciante has revealed the album’s full track list and shared its hypnotic opener “After Below,” which is available to stream below. 

Following his 2009 departure from the Chili Peppers, Frusciante has remained prolific in a wide range of genres – from prog rock to synth-pop. He released Enclosure, his 12th solo album under his own name, in 2014 and has collaborated frequently with guitarist-producer Omar Rodriguez-Lopez, playing on several albums from the now-defunct Mars Volta and forming the supergroup Kimono Kult with Rodriguez-Lopez and Teri Gender Bender. 

Trickfinger Tracklist:

1. “After Below”
2. “Before Above”  
3. “Rainover”
4. “Sain”
5. “Exlam”
6. “85h”
7. “4:30”
8. “Phurip”

In This Article: John Frusciante


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.