Home Music Music News

Joey Bada$$ Recruits J. Cole, Schoolboy Q for New Album

Rapper details 12-track LP ‘All-Amerikkan Bada$$,’ which also features Styles P, Chronixx, Pro Era associates and more


Joey Bada$$ has recruited guests like J. Cole, Schoolboy Q and the Lox's Styles P for his upcoming LP 'All-Amerikkkan Bada$$.'

Mark Horton/Getty

Joey Bada$$ has recruited guests like J. Cole, Schoolboy Q and Styles P for his upcoming LP All-Amerikkkan Bada$$.

“This is the most important hip-hop album in a long time. Blood sweat & tears into this,” Bada$$ promised of his new LP on Twitter. “First body of work I made that isn’t about me… This is about us. For the world. Universal sound. Legends they never die.”

The album, due out April 7th, features the rapper’s 2016 hit “Devastated” along with the politically charged single “Land of the Free”; the basketball-themed “Victory” didn’t make the final cut. 

Schoolboy Q pops up on “Rockabye” while J. Cole appears on “Legendary.” Other guests include the Lox’s Styles P, reggae artist Chronixx, Flatbush Zombies’ Meechy Darko and Bada$$’ Pro Era associates Kirk Knight and Nyck Caution.

Even though the rapper’s 2015 LP B4.DA.$$ debuted at Number Two on the Billboard 200 – and he scored a high-profile role on Mr. Robot –  Bada$$ still considered himself an independent artist in a July 2016 interview, even as “Devastated” ascended the singles chart.

“It’s funny, because I don’t consider myself a mainstream rapper, either. They need to make a new term for me. I’m like a major-indie. Yeah, that’s what I am. I’m not underground, I’m not major label, I’m just major-indie,” Bada$$ said, including Chance the Rapper in that category. “Dude, these major-indies are here, man. That’s what it is. We’re ‘mindies.'”

All-Amerikkkan Bada$$ Track List

1. “Good Morning Amerikkka”
2. “For My People”
3. “Temptation”
4. “Land of the Free”
5. “Devastated”
6. “Y U Don’t Love Me?”
7. “Rockabye” featuring Schoolboy Q
8. “Ring the Alarm” featuring Kirk Knight, Nyck Caution & Meechy Darko of Flatbush Zombies
9. “Super Predator” featuring Styles P
10. “Babylon” featuring Chronixx
11. “Legendary” featuring J. Cole
12. “Amerikkkan Idol”


Powered by