Jesus and Mary Chain Detail First Album in 18 Years - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Jesus and Mary Chain Detail First Album in 18 Years, ‘Damage and Joy’

Scottish noise-pop group enlists producer Youth, former Lush bassist Phil King

Jesus and Mary Chain Detail First Album in 18 YearsJesus and Mary Chain Detail First Album in 18 Years

Scottish noise-pop outfit the Jesus and Mary Chain will release their first album in 18 years, 'Damage and Joy,' next March.

Mike Laye

UPDATE: The group unveiled new song “Amputation,” the first single off Damage and Joy. Listen below.

Scottish noise-pop pioneers the Jesus and Mary Chain will release their first album in 18 years, Damage and Joy, March 24th via ADA/Warner Music.

The record marks the group’s first since 1998’s Munki and was produced by Youth (Killing Joke co-founder Martin Glover), who also plays bass on the record. Damage and Joy will also feature contributions from the Jesus and Mary Chain’s touring drummer Brian Young and former Lush bassist Phil King.

“We started to – can you believe? – listen to each other a bit more,” singer Jim Reid said in a statement. “In the last couple of years, we’ve buried the hatchet to some degree, and thankfully not into each other. Most people who know us would say that we haven’t mellowed that much. I think it was to do with the fact, dare I say it, that wisdom comes with age. Let’s live and let live, and let’s take each other’s opinions into account.”

The first track from the album, “Amputation,” premiered Thursday on Steve Lamacq’s BBC 6 Music show. The group earlier had tweeted a 30-second trailer for the song, which featured a rapid-fire montage of images and a voice casually speaking over a melodic drone. The full song boasts streamlined electronic percussion, but otherwise bears all the classic Jesus and Mary Chain hallmarks from winding, reverb-drenched guitar lines to singer Jim Reid’s dulcet pop vocals and biting lyrics.

The Jesus and Mary Chain announced that they were working on a new album last year, after spending several months on the road celebrating the 30th anniversary of their seminal 1985 debut, Psychocandy. In a 2015 interview with Rolling Stone, Reid said he and his brother, guitarist William Reid, had “fuck-loads of songs,” but, “We disagree about a lot of things to do with it, like how to record it, where to record it. Now we’re starting to come around to agreeing with each other, which is kind of strange territory for me and William. But we’re getting close. So look out for a new Mary Chain record sometime soon.”

Jesus and Mary Chain Damage and Joy Track List

1. “Amputation”
2. “War On Peace”
3. “All Things Pass”
4. “Always Sad”
5. “Song For A Secret”
6. “The Two Of Us”
7. “Los Feliz (Blues and Greens)”
8. “Mood Rider”
9. “Presidici (Et Chapaquiditch)”
10. “Get On Home”
11. “Facing Up To The Facts”
12. “Simian Split”
13. “Black And Blues”
14. “Can’t Stop The Rock”

In This Article: The Jesus and Mary Chain


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.