Jeff Buckley Compilation to Include Unreleased Songs, Covers - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Jeff Buckley Compilation to Include Unreleased Songs, Covers

Record collects singer’s first recordings for Columbia Records

Jeff BuckleyJeff Buckley

A new, posthumous Jeff Buckley compilation titled 'You and I' will collect the singer's previously unreleased covers and other songs

Paul Natkin/WireImage/Getty

A new compilation will collect Jeff Buckley‘s previously unreleased first recordings for Columbia Records. The 10-track You and I, due out March 11th, contains a mix of originals and covers of tunes by artists ranging from Bob Dylan to Sly and the Family Stone.

The late singer-songwriter recorded the tracks at producer Steve Addabbo’s Shelter Island Sound studio in February 1993, a few months after he signed to the label. The recordings had languished in the Sony Music archives until they were found during research for the 20th anniversary of Buckley’s only album, Grace, which came out in 1994.

Jeff Buckley

Prior to the record’s release, the label will also put out a seven-inch containing Buckley’s cover of Sly and the Family Stone’s “Everyday People,” backed with the original group’s version on Record Store Day’s Black Friday event on November 27th (via NPR).

The company also premiered a 30-second teaser for the record, in which acoustic guitar plays as the singer walks down an autumnal road repeating, “you and I, you and I, you and I.”

In addition to a wide-ranging selection of covers, the album contains his first-ever studio recording of the song “Grace,” as well as the never-before-released tune “Dream of You and I,” which the label describes as “mysterious and haunting.” The covers include tunes by the Smiths, Led Zeppelin and a blues tune popularized by Bukka White.

You and I Track List

1. “Just Like a Woman” (Bob Dylan cover)
2. “Everyday People” (Sly & the Family Stone cover)
3. “Don’t Let the Sun Catch You Cryin'” (Louis Jordan cover)
4. “Grace”
5. “Calling You” (Jevetta Steele cover)
6. “Dream of You and I”
7. “The Boy With the Thorn in His Side” (The Smiths cover)
8. “Poor Boy Long Way From Home” (Bukka White cover)
9. “Night Flight” (Led Zeppelin cover)
10. “I Know It’s Over” (The Smiths cover)

In This Article: Jeff Buckley


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.