Janet Jackson Unveils 'Unbreakable' Track List, Release Date - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Janet Jackson Unveils ‘Unbreakable’ Track List, Release Date

J. Cole and Missy Elliott guest on the 17-track LP, which features songs where Jackson “opens up about her brother Michael”

Janet JacksonJanet Jackson

Janet Jackson has unveiled the track list, album cover and inspiration for her upcoming LP 'Unbreakable,' which will arrive this October

Christopher Polk/BET/Getty

Janet Jackson has unveiled the track list and album cover for her upcoming LP Unbreakable, which will arrive October 2nd. The 17-track LP will feature two guests: J. Cole, who appears on first single “No Sleeep,” and Missy Elliott, who helped Jackson debut their collaboration “Burnitup!” at the singer’s tour opener in Vancouver. Unbreakable is available to pre-order now through iTunes.

According to the official Jackson site, “The album also will mark the first time Janet Jackson has opened up about her brother Michael and with reflections concerning her youth,” the album announcement revealed, however it’s unclear which tracks will focus on the King of Pop.

“No Sleeep” was produced by Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, who also steered Jackson’s Control LP in 1986. “It’s wonderful to be creating again with Janet. From songwriting, producing, arranging, singing, dancing, acting, she deftly does it all and truly personifies the word artist,” the production duo said in a statement. “Unbreakable is a gift to all of her fans who have steadfastly stood by her. It is a subject for conversation, a plea for compassion, and a call for action from someone who’s come a long way, but’s got a long way to go, and has much to say about it. In other words, if you want to know what’s on her mind you only have to listen.”

Unbreakable will also tackle “Janet’s views on where we stand today as individuals and as the inter-related elements of a planet. Some of these relate to her convictions passionately expressed in [Jackson’s 1989 concept album] Rhythm Nation 1814, including the need to bring things out in the open and to have a dialogue,” a note posted on the singer’s site says. “Inherent in this music will be her feeling that we must learn to celebrate life and the things each of us experiences and endures and how that process can make each person stronger.”

Unbreakable Track List

1. “Unbreakable”
2. “Burnitup!” (feat. Missy Elliott)
3. “Dammn Baby”
4. “The Great Forever”
5. “Shoulda Known Better”
6. “After You Fall”
7. “Broken Hearts Heal”
8. “Night”
9. “No Sleeep” (feat. J. Cole)
10. “Dream Maker/ Euphoria”
11. “2 B Loved”
12. “Take Me Away”
13. “Promise”
14. “Lessons Learned”
15. “Black Eagle”
16. “Well Traveled”
17. “Gon B Alright”

In This Article: Janet Jackson


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.