Jamiroquai Announce New LP 'Automaton,' Unveil Title Track - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Jamiroquai Announce New LP ‘Automaton,’ Unveil Title Track Video

“Virtual Reality” outfit return with first album since 2010

Jamiroquai have unveiled their new video for “Automaton,” the title track off the “Virtual Insanity” outfit’s first album in seven years.

Frontman Jay Kay said of the new album in a statement, “The inspiration for Automaton is in recognition of the rise of artificial intelligence and technology in our world today and how we as humans are beginning to forget the more pleasant, simple and eloquent things in life and in our environment including our relationship with one another as human beings.”

The video for “Automaton” fits with that theme: Arriving a day after the Doomsday Clock ticked closer to midnight, the video opens with a nuclear bomb exploding. Kay, as a humanoid wearing a unique helmet that responds to stimulation of the senses, walks around a post-apocalyptic London.

Like the abandoned London tube tunnels that Kay navigates in the video, “Automaton” makes unexpected shifts and turns. The dance-pop single’s propulsive verses suddenly make way for the track’s booming chorus before abruptly turning into a Daft Punk-like bridge where a synthetic voice chants “I’m automaton.”

Automaton arrives March 31st. The album is available to pre-order now in a variety of different formats and bundles on the Jamiroquai site.

The album, co-produced by Kay and keyboardist Matt Johnson, is the group’s first LP since 2010’s Rock Dust Light Star.

Automaton Track List

1. “Shake It On”
2. “Automaton”
3. “Cloud 9”
4. “Superfresh”
5. “Hot Property”
6. “Something About You”
7. “Summer Girl”
8. “Nights Out In The Jungle”
9. “Dr Buzz”
10. “We Can Do It”
11. “Vitamin”
12. “Carla”

In This Article: Jamiroquai


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.