Jamie Lidell Previews New Album With Stirring Song 'Walk Right Back' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Jamie Lidell Previews New Album With Stirring Song ‘Walk Right Back’

‘Building a Beginning’ marks British singer’s first album since 2013

Jamie Lidell Album Cover Building a Beginning Single ReleaseJamie Lidell Album Cover Building a Beginning Single Release

Jamie Lidell has released a sweet, stumbling new track, "Walk Right Back," the first from his upcoming album, 'Building a Beginning.'

Jamie Lidell has released a sparse, soulful new song, “Walk Right Back,” the first from his upcoming album, Building a Beginning, out October 14th via the British musician’s own Jajulin Records.

“Walk Right Back” is available on Spotify and iTunes, and finds Lidell deftly guiding a song that seems moments from stumbling away from him.

The verse is intercut with intermittent synth swells and driven by a bass groove that thumps beneath a lurching, staggered drum beat. Meanwhile, Lidell stretches his vocals to a strain that nearly vanishes in the mix — when suddenly the song coalesces into a plucky, earworm chorus.

Building a Beginning marks Lidell’s sixth LP and first since his 2013 self-titled album. The record features an all-star cast of studio musicians including drummer Daru Jones (Jack White), bassist Pino Palladino (D’Angelo, Elton John, the Who), multi-instrumentalist Pat Sansone (Wilco) and back-up vocalists Kudisan Kai, Traci Brown Bailey and Tiffany Smith. The album was produced by Justin Stanley (Beck, Prince) and Ben Ash, while Lidell co-wrote lyrics with his wife, Lindsey Rome.

Jamie Lidell Album Cover Building a Beginning

Building a Beginning is available to pre-order digitally on iTunes and physically on Amazon, and comes with an instant download of “Walk Right Back.” A complete track list is below. Lidell is also set to embark on a European tour this fall with North American dates expected to be announced soon.

Building a Beginning Track List

1. “Building a Beginning”
2. “Julian”
3. “I live to Make You Smile”
4. “Find It Hard to Say”
5. “Me and You”
6. “How Did I Live Before Your Love”
7. “Walk Right Back”
8. “Nothing’s Gonna Change”
9. “In Love and Alone”
10. “Motionless”
11. “Believe In Me”
12. “I Stay Inside”
13. “Precious Years”
14. “Don’t Let Me Let You Go”

In This Article: Jamie Lidell


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.