James Taylor to Release “Covers” Album - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

James Taylor to Release “Covers” Album

James Taylor will release an album of covers, mysteriously titled Covers, on September 30th via Hear Music. Taylor will perform renditions of songs that span several decades, including a pair of Leiber-Stoller tunes (“Hound Dog” and “On Broadway”), Leonard Cohen’s “Suzanne” and even the Dixie Chicks’ version of “Some Days You Gotta Dance.” “An album of other peoples’ music is something I’ve been wanting to do for years,” says Taylor. “I’ve enjoyed performing these songs over the years but to record them live in a room with these incredible musicians was just extraordinary.” Taylor and his Band of Legends gathered in a converted Massachusetts barn last January and recorded Covers in ten days. Follow the jump for the rest of the track list.

Track Listing:

1. “It’s Growing” (William Robinson, Jr.-Warren Moore) – made popular by The Temptations
2. “(I’m A) Road Runner” (Edward Holland Jr.-Lamont Dozier-Brian Holland) – made popular by Jr. Walker & the All Stars
3. “Wichita Lineman” (Jimmy Webb) made popular by Glen Campbell
4. “Why Baby Why” (Darrell Edwards-George Jones)
5. “Some Days You Gotta Dance” (Troy Johnson-Marshall Morgan) made popular by the Dixie Chicks
6. “Seminole Wind” (John Anderson)
7. “Suzanne” (Leonard Cohen)
8. “Hound Dog” (Jerry Leiber-Mike Stoller) Big Mama Thornton inspired arrangement
9. “Sadie” (Joseph Jefferson-Charles Simmons-Bruce Hawes) – made popular by The Spinners
10. “On Broadway” (Jerry Leiber-Mike Stoller-Cynthia Weil-Barry Mann) – made popular by The Drifters
11. “Summertime Blues” (Eddie Cochran-Jerry Capehart)
12. “Not Fade Away” (Norman Petty-Buddy Holly)


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.