Jack White Previews Acoustic Comp With Folky Song 'City Lights' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Jack White Previews Acoustic Comp With Folky Unreleased Song ‘City Lights’

Track set to appear on White’s career-spanning acoustic, rarities collection ‘Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998 – 2016’

Jack White shared a previously unreleased White Stripes song, “City Lights,” set to appear on Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998 – 2016, a double LP rarities collection out September 9th via Third Man Records/Columbia Records.

Originally written for the White Stripes’ 2005 album Get Behind Me Satan, “City Lights” is a ramshackle folk tune laced with intricate guitars alongside White’s aching vocals. White rediscovered the track while prepping the 2015 vinyl reissue of Get Behind Me Satan and finished it this year. 

Arranged in chronological order, Acoustic Recordings boasts a slew of b-sides, remixes and alternate versions. Among the selections from the White Stripes era are opener “Sugar Never Tasted So Good,” from the band’s second 7-inch, a remix of De Stijl‘s “Apple Blossom” and iterations of early classics like “Hotel Yorba,” “We’re Going to Be Friends” and “Well It’s True That We Love One Another.” Also featured is the Beck-produced, “Honey, We Can’t Afford to Look This Cheap,” which initially appeared as the b-side to the White Stripes’ final single, “Conquest.”

Acoustic Recordings also includes a bluegrass version of the Raconteurs “Top Yourself” and an acoustic mix of the band’s murder ballad, “Carolina Drama.” Meanwhile, White’s solo career is represented by the b-side “Machine Gun Silhouette” and alternate mixes of “Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy,” “I Guess I Should Go to Sleep” and “Just One Drink.” A complete track list is below.

Acoustic Recordings is available to pre-order physically and digitally, with digital pre-orders coming with an instant download of “City Lights” beginning Friday, August 12th. The new collection also features liner notes by journalist Greil Marcus.

Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998 – 2016 Track List


1. “Sugar Never Tasted So Good”
2. “Apple Blossom” (Remixed)
3. “I’m Bound To Pack It Up” (Remixed)
4. “Hotel Yorba”
5. “We’re Going To Be Friends”
6. “You’ve Got Her In Your Pocket”
7. “Well It’s True That We Love One Another”
8. “Never Far Away”


9. “Forever For Her” (Is Over For Me)
10. “White Moon”
11. “As Ugly As I Seem”
12. “City Lights” (Previously Unreleased White Stripes Track)
13. “Honey, We Can’t Afford To Look This Cheap”
14. “Effect & Cause”


15. “Love Is The Truth” (Acoustic Mix)
16. “Top Yourself” (Bluegrass Version)
17. “Carolina Drama” (Acoustic Mix)
18. “Love Interruption”
19. “On And On And On”
20. “Machine Gun Silhouette” (Acoustic Mix)


21. “Blunderbuss”
22. “Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy” (Alternate Mix)
23. “I Guess I Should Go To Sleep” (Alternate Mix)
24. “Just One Drink” (Acoustic Mix)
25. “Entitlement”
26. “Want And Able”

In This Article: Jack White


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.