Inside Weezer's Rarities Compilation, 'Death to False Metal' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Inside Weezer’s Rarities Compilation

‘It’s stuff that was either too poppy or too heavy metal or too weird to make it onto any of our records,’ Cuomo tells ‘Rolling Stone.’

Weezer have revealed the track list (below) and awe-inspiring cover art for their upcoming rarities collection Death to False Metal, due out November 2nd. Rolling Stone recently spoke to frontman Rivers Cuomo about the odds-and-ends collection. Death to False Metal ‘is really a collection of songs that were mostly finished over the last 17 years, songs that didn’t make it onto any one of our seven Geffen records. I spent two weeks in the studio adding bridges or rewriting a verse here or there, putting on some overdubs, that sort of thing — it’s really fun stuff,” Cuomo tells RS.

Exclusive Video: Rivers Cuomo Plays New Song Poolside in Las Vegas

While Cuomo has previously dug into the vaults for Alone: The Home Recordings of Rivers Cuomo, Death to False Metal will feature 10 completely unreleased tracks, including a cover of Tori Braxton’s “Un-Break My Heart.” “I like the idea of not making fans buy the same stuff more than once, so it’s a totally unique record. It has stuff going all the way back to the Blue Album, and that was ’93, so it’s like 17 years, songs from all throughout that period. It’s stuff that was either too poppy or too heavy metal or too weird to make it onto any of our records,” Cuomo explains. “In some cases, we fully recorded and mixed it at a certain time and were just waiting for the right moment to put it out, and in other cases, we abandoned the recording halfway through. Now, I’ve figured out how to finish off the songs. I did some new writing and a bunch of new recording on it.”

Inside Weezer’s Exhilarating Rolling Stone Set in Las Vegas

Death to False Metal comes on the heels of Weezer”s new album Hurley, and its release will coincide with the reissue of Pinkerton. And Cuomo tells Rolling Stone that the band has already begun work on their next album. But he doesn”t much info to share on that yet: “I don’t want to give you a tentative title, because people get too upset about that sort of thing,” Cuomo says.

Death to False Metal Track Listing
1. “Turning Up the Radio”
2. “I Don’t Want Your Loving”
3. “Blowin’ My Stack”
4. “Losing My Mind”
5. “Everyone”
6. “I’m a Robot”
7. “Trampoline”
8. “Odd Couple”
9. “Autopilot”
10. “Un-Break My Heart”


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.