Hendrix Anthology Boasts Rare and Unreleased Music - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hendrix Anthology Boasts Rare and Unreleased Music

West Coast Seattle Boy, out November 16th, tracks Hendrix’s career from sideman to guitar great, and features a cover of Bob Dylan’s “Tears of Rage.”

Unreleased songs, alternate takes, rare live recordings and Jimi Hendrix’s early work as a session musician will all be unearthed for the upcoming four-disc box set West Coast Seattle Boy: The Jimi Hendrix Anthology. The collection charts Hendrix’s career from his time as guitarist for the Isley Brothers and Little Richard to the weeks before his death in 1970, when he was recording alone in his New York apartment. The 45 unreleased recordings will be paired with a new documentary, Jimi Hendrix Voodoo Child, a 90-minute film culled from Hendrix’s own words and read by Parliament’s Bootsy Collins. West Coast Seattle Boy is out November 16th.

List: the 100 Greatest Guitarists.

The anthology’s first disc will focus on Hendrix’s work as a sideman; the second and third discs, on alternate takes of classics like “Fire” and “May This Be Love,” plus a heap of unreleased tracks; and the fourth on Hendrix’s December 31st, 1969 concert at the Fillmore East, plus private recordings Jimi made in his Greenwich Village apartment in 1970. Notable tracks: A recording of “Everlasting First” that pairs Hendrix with Love’s Arthur Lee, and alternate versions of “1983 (A Merman I Shall Turn To Be)” and “The Star-Spangled Banner.” West Coast Seattle Boy will also feature a never-before-heard recording of Hendrix covering Bob Dylan’s “Tears of Rage.” (“All Along the Watchtower,” Hendrix’s cover of Bob Dylan’s John Wesley Harding track, is among Hendrix’s best-known songs.)

Jimi Hendrix: classic photos.

In a statement, Janie Hendrix, Jimi’s sister and president of Experience Hendrix, says: “This vast exploration of my brother’s musical and life experiences leaves no stone unturned and is sure to broaden our understanding of who Jimi really was, not only as a legendary musician, but also as a timeless messenger of love.” West Coast Seattle Boy will wrap up a year’s worth of Hendrix releases in which his entire discography was reissued.

West Coast Seattle Boy
Disc 1
1. Isley Brothers – Testify (1964)
2. Don Covay & the Goodtimers – Mercy, Mercy (1964)
3. Don Covay & the Goodtimers – Can’t Stay Away (1964)
4. Rosa Lee Brooks – My Diary (1965 – written by Arthur Lee)
5. Rosa Lee Brooks – Utee (1965)
6. Little Richard – I Don’t Know What You Got But It’s Got Me (1965)
7. Little Richard – Dancing All Around The World (1965)
8. Frank Howard & The Commanders – I’m So Glad (1966 – written by Billy Cox)
9. Isley Brothers – Move Over And Let Me Dance (1965)
10. Isley Brothers – Have You Ever Been Disappointed (1965)
11. Ray Sharpe – Help Me (Get The Feeling) (Part I) (1966)
12. The Icemen – (My Girl) She’s A Fox (1966)
13. Jimmy Norman – That Little Old Groovemaker (1966)
14. Billy Lamont – Sweet Thang (1968)
15. King Curtis – Instant Groove (1969)

Disc 2
1. Fire (1967) – Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
2. Are You Experienced (1967)  – Previously Unreleased Recording
3. May This Be Love (1967) – Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
4. Can You See Me (1967) – Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
5. Love Or Confusion (1967) – Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
6. Little One (1967) – Previously Unreleased Recording (featuring Dave Mason on sitar)
7. Mr. Bad Luck (1967) – Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
8. Cat Talking To Me (1967) – Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
9. Castles Made Of Sand (1967) – Previously Unreleased Recording
10. Tears Of Rage (1968) – Previously Unreleased Recording
11. Hear My Train A Comin’ (1968) – Previously Unreleased Recording
12. 1983 (A Merman I Shall Turn To Be) (1968) – Previously Unreleased Recording
13. Long Hot Summer Night (1968) – Previously Unreleased Recording
14. My Friend (1968) – Previously Unreleased Recording
15. Angel (1968) – Previously Unreleased Recording
16. Calling All The Devil’s Children (1968) – Previously Unreleased Recording
17. New Rising Sun (1968) – Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording

Disc 3
1. Hear My Freedom (1968) – Previously Unreleased Recording
2. Room Full Of Mirrors (1969) – Previously Unreleased Recording
3. Shame, Shame, Shame (1969) – Previously Unreleased Recording
4. Messenger (1968) – Previously Unreleased Recording
5. Hound Dog Blues (1969) – Previously Unreleased Recording
6. Untitled Basic Track  (1968) – Previously Unreleased Recording
7. Star Spangled Banner (1969) – Previously Unreleased Original Mix
8. Purple Haze (1969) – Previously Unreleased Original Mix
9. Young/Hendrix (1969) – Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
10. Mastermind (1969) – Previously Unreleased Recording
11. Message To Love (1969) – Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
12. Fire (1969) – Previously Unreleased Recording
13. Foxey Lady (1969) – Previously Unreleased Recording

Disc 4
1. Stone Free (1969) – Previously Unreleased Recording
2. Burning Desire (1970) – Previously Unreleased Recording
3. Lonely Avenue (1969) – Previously Unreleased Recording
4. Everlasting First (1970) – Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording (featuring Arthur Lee)
5. Freedom (1970) – Previously Unreleased Recording
6. Peter Gunn/Catastrophe (1970) – Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
7. In From The Storm (1970) – Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
8. All God’s Children (1970) – Previously Unreleased Recording
9. Red House (1970) – Previously Unreleased Recording
10. Play That Riff [Thank You] (1970) – Previously Unreleased Recording
11. Bolero (1970) – Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
12. Hey Baby (New Rising Sun) – Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
13. Suddenly November Morning (1970) – Previously Unreleased Recording

Popular on Rolling Stone


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.