Hear Thom Yorke's Haunting Vocals on New Mark Pritchard Song - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hear Thom Yorke’s Haunting Vocals on Mark Pritchard’s ‘Beautiful People’

Producer’s ‘Under the Sun’ album will be released in May

Producer Mark Pritchard premiered his achingly gorgeous “Beautiful People” via BBC Radio1 on Monday. The song, hailing from his forthcoming Under the Sun, features Radiohead‘s Thom Yorke.

The track’s affecting wind instrument-buoyed soundscape serves as the soft undertow to light, rhythmic percussion and Yorke’s haunting vocals as the track builds with emotion, cresting and receding in waves of reflection.

“The original instrumental to ‘Beautiful People’ is a personal song about loss, hopelessness and chaos, but the message is love and hope,” Pritchard said in a statement. “Thom’s contribution to this collaboration captured perfectly what the piece is about. I will be forever grateful to have worked with such an immense talent.”

This isn’t the first time Pritchard and Yorke have worked together. In 2011, Pritchard remixed “Bloom” from Radiohead’s The King of Limbs. Pritchard’s “Bloom Rmx” was part of a series of limited edition 12-inch singles that Radiohead released, which were later compiled for TKOL RMX 1234567.

Earlier this month, Pritchard shared the video for the mesmerizing “Sad Alron,” another song from his upcoming album. Pritchard’s Under the Sun will be released on May 13th via Warp Records. The producer will be participating in Red Bull Music Academy Festival from May 12-15. Pritchard will showcase the album with presentation that will feature an audiovisual installation collaboration with visual artist Jonathan Zawada.

Under the Sun Track List

1. “?”
2. “Give It Your Choir” (feat. Bibio)
3. “Infrared”
4. “Falling”
5. “Beautiful People” (feat. Thom Yorke)
6. “Where Do They Go, The Butterflies”
7. “Sad Alron”
8. “You Wash My Soul” (feat. Linda Perhacs)
9. “Cycles Of 9”
10. “Hi Red”
11. “Ems”
12. “The Blinds Cage” (feat. Beans)
13. “Dawn Of The North”
14. “Khufu”
15. “Rebel Angels”
16. “Under The Sun”

Radiohead have announced their first U.S. concerts in four years.

In This Article: Radiohead, Thom Yorke


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.