Hear the Weeknd's Songs 'I Feel it Coming,' 'Party Monster' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hear the Weeknd’s New Songs ‘I Feel it Coming’ with Daft Punk, ‘Party Monster’

Singer also unveils ‘Starboy’ album track list

the Weekndthe Weeknd

The Weeknd has unveiled new songs "I Feel it Coming" with Daft Punk and "Party Monster" from his forthcoming 'Starboy' album.

Kevin Mazur/Getty

The Weeknd, aka Abel Tesfaye, has unveiled two new tracks, “I Feel it Coming” featuring Daft Punk and “Party Monster,” from his forthcoming album, Starboy.

On the sultry, danceable “I Feel it Coming,” the Weeknd and Daft Punk display a romantic, hopeful sway. “You’ve been scared of love and what it did to you/ You don’t have to run/ I know what you’ve been through,” Tesfaye croons. “Just a simple touch and it could set you free/ We don’t have to rush when you’re alone with me.” Tesfaye also teamed with Daft Punk for the album’s title track.

In contrast, “Party Monster” channels a woozy, paranoid vibe musically, resembling the substance-induced haze of an overindulgent night reflected in the lyrics. He laments, “I just need a girl who gonna really understand” and sings about lustful moments and indiscretions. Later Tesfaye confesses, “Woke up by a girl/ I don’t even know her name.”

 In a recent interview with The Wall Street Journal, the singer said the 18-track set was significantly influenced by recently departed legends Prince and David Bowie. He also discussed collaborating with Daft Punk. “Their studio is like a spaceship; there’s a lot of gear,” he said. “But the way they make music, the way they explain it, is very cinematic. It’s like they’re reading a page out of a novel – ‘We want to make sure that at the end, it feels like the sun’s coming up, and maybe there’s a car chase.’ They can get technical, but it was interesting how they visualize making music.”

The follow-up to 2015’s Beauty Behind the Madness, the Weeknd’s third studio album Starboy will be released on November 25th via Republic Records. In addition to two tracks with Daft Punk, the album features Lana Del Rey, Kendrick Lamar and Future.

Starboy Track List

1. “Starboy” featuring Daft Punk
2. “Party Monster”
3. “False Alarm”
4. “Reminder”
5. “Rockin'”
6. “Secrets”
7. “True Colors”
8. “Stargirl Interlude” featuring Lana Del Rey
9. “Sidewalks” featuring Kendrick Lamar
10. “Six Feet Under”
11. “Love to Lay”
12. “A Lonely Night”
13. “Attention”
14. “Ordinary Life”
15. “Nothing Without You”
16. “All I Know” featuring Future
17. “Die For You”
18. “I Feel it Coming” featuring Daft Punk

In This Article: Daft Punk, The Weeknd


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.