Hear Slayer's Breakneck-Paced 'Repentless' Title Track - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hear Slayer’s Breakneck-Paced ‘Repentless’ Title Track

Group also confirms LP’s track list

Slayer‘s first new album in six years, cheekily titled Repentless, isn’t due out until September 11th, but on Friday, the group shared its breakneck-paced title track. The song can be heard in a new montage video the band has released. The band has previously offered up the tracks “When the Stillness Comes” and “Implode” from the record and have released the album’s complete track list.

Beginning with a doomy, orchestral riff, the track quickly transitions to a gallop, as frontman Tom Araya sings about “arrogant violence, world disarray” and, for the chorus, how he lives fast, “repentless.” At the breakdown, the singer bellows, in true Slayer fashion, “We’re killing ourselves a little more every day!” The track features dueling bluesy solos by Exodus guitarist Gary Holt and founding Slayer guitarist Kerry King.

The thrashers have also detailed how the 12-track record, which onetime Pantera producer Terry Date helmed, will come out. In addition to the standard CD and digital versions, there will be a deluxe CD edition with either a DVD or Blu-ray containing the band’s Wacken 2014 set and a documentary on how Repentless was made. There will also be a stand-alone vinyl release, and the LP will be available in a mega box with the CD, video release, a CD of the Wacken set, a 12-inch photo card and poster. The band’s website is also hawking an “eagle” box set edition, using its metal eagle logo as a housing, containing everything in the other box set along with a numbered certificate.

The album will be the group’s first since the death of guitarist Jeff Hanneman and departure of founding drummer Dave Lombardo. Exodus guitarist Gary Holt played some leads in Hanneman’s stead on the record, while former Slayer drummer Paul Bostaph returned to the fold.

“I know there’s gonna be naysayers,” Slayer guitarist Kerry King told Rolling Stone in early May about fans’ expectations for the record. “I know there’s gonna be people expecting us to fail, because so many things changed in the last six years. I’m prepared for that ’cause I know humans are just retards when they get on the Internet. But I know we put a good product together. I’m proud of it.”

Leading up to the record’s release, the band will be on the road headlining the touring Mayhem Festival. Other bands on that trek include King Diamond, Hellyeah and the Devil Wears Prada.

Repentless Track List:

1. “Delusions of Saviour”
2. “Repentless”
3. “Take Control”
4. “Vices”
5. “Cast the First Stone”
6. “When the Stillness Comes”
7. “Chasing Death”
8. “Implode”
9. “Piano Wire”
10. “Atrocity Vendor”
11. “You Against You”
12. “Pride in Prejudice”

In This Article: Slayer


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.