Hear Sia, Kanye West Team Up for New Song 'Reaper' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hear Sia, Kanye West Team Up for New Song ‘Reaper’

Track, originally meant for Rihanna, will appear on upcoming LP ‘This Is Acting’

Sia Furler has debuted another new track off her upcoming album This Is Acting. The booming “Reaper” was co-written and produced by Kanye West and originally intended for Rihanna’s eighth album, Anti.

The song aligns with many of Furler’s past singles, pairing an upbeat track with dark but empowering lyrics. “You came to take me away/So close I was to heaven’s gates/But no baby, no baby not today,” she sings on the track’s chorus.

Furler spoke with Rolling Stone recently about the track, one of many songs on her forthcoming album meant for Anti, and how West did not show up to their writing sessions together. “They’ll entice me into a session by saying, ‘Rihanna will definitely be there’ or ‘Kanye will definitely be there,’ but it’s hilarious because I turn up and, almost always, they never come,” she said. “I remember I just raced in and raced out, and I thought there was something about the chorus that seemed fun about this song, but I never thought it would see the light of day.”

“Reaper” is the second collaboration by Furler and West, but the first to be officially released. In early 2015, West debuted their melancholic song “Wolves,” which also featured Chicago rapper Vic Mensa, during his Yeezy Boosts livestream. The trio performed the song during the SNL 40 special, but a studio version has yet to be released. During the livestream, it was revealed that the song would be the first track on West’s forthcoming Swish.

Furler also revealed the track list for her album, due January 29th, via marquees of theaters like Webster Hall in New York City  and Oxford Art Factory in Sydney, Australia. See below for the track list.

This Is Acting Track List:

1. “Bird Set Free”
2. “Alive”
3. “One Million Bullets”
4. “Move Your Body”
5. “Unstoppable”
6. “Cheap Thrills”
7. “Reaper”
8. “House on Fire”
9. “Footprints”
10. “Sweet Design”
11. “Broken Glass”
12. “Space Between”

In This Article: Kanye West, Sia


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.