Hear Oh Land's Serene Dance-Pop Song 'Head Up High' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hear Oh Land’s Serene Dance-Pop Song ‘Head Up High’

The track will appear on the singer-songwriter’s upcoming record ‘Earth Sick,’ due out this fall

Oh Land

Oh Land

Gonzales Photo/Marcus Andreassen

On “Head Up High,” electro-pop singer-songwriter Oh Land turns a song of emotional support into a jubilant celebration of resilience, peppered with bells, reedy synths and repeated “high up” choruses. The Danish-born artist, whose real name is Nanna Øland Fabricius, wrote the track to encourage a friend who was going through a rough patch romantically. A year after writing the song, Fabricius had forgotten it existed. When she began working on her upcoming fourth album Earth Sick – due out November 11th – her friend, who was feeling better, reminded her about it, and she finished it up for inclusion on the record.

Earlier this year, Fabricius launched a PledgeMusic campaign to make Earth Sick, which she is putting out on her own label. In a video she filmed in her in-home studio, which includes a “baby grand” piano (a children’s xylophone-like instrument), she explained that she wanted to return to her roots by making an album at home. “I’m going to record this album here in my flat in New York City, back to the roots, do it all by myself with a little help from my friends and you,” she said in a video on the site. “I’ve decided to fund this album myself, but I need a little bit of help.”

She explained that via the campaign, she’d be sharing snippets of music and would release the album title there first. She also offered a number of titles that wouldn’t make the cover of what turned out to be Earth Sick. Those include Space Bread, The Last American, Players Handbook or Penis. Various pledge levels rewarded fans with everything from signed copies of her CD to a personalized mixtape to her studio’s piano. She also said that she would be donating five percent of the money she raises to the Greenpeace Save the Arctic campaign.

Earth Sick Track List:

1. “Machine”
2. “Favor Friends”
3. “Head Up High”
4. “Earth Sick”
5. “Nothing Is Over”
6. “Doubt My Legs”
7. “Half Hero”
8. “Daylight”
9. “Hot ‘n Bothered”
10. “Little Things”
11. “Flags”
12. “No Particular Order”
13. “Trailblazer”


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.