Hear New Order's Triumphant New Song 'Restless' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hear New Order’s Triumphant New Song ‘Restless’

Dance icons unveil opening track from new LP ‘Music Complete’

New Order will release Music Complete, their first full-length album in a decade, this September, and on Tuesday, the dance icons unveiled the LP’s first single and opening track, “Restless.” The 10-year studio layoff – and loss of longtime bassist Peter Hook – does little to slow the band down. From its elegant, atmospheric opening and bright, anthemic choruses to frontman Bernard Sumner’s trademark guitar tone and the welcome return of keyboardist Gillian Gilbert, “Restless” recalls New Order’s 1985 LP Low-Life. Gilbert, for her part, rejoins New Order for the first time since 2001’s Get Ready.

New Order’s follow-up to 2005’s Waiting for the Sirens’ Call will features some all-star guests: Brandon Flowers contributes vocals on Music Complete‘s closing cut “Superheated” (featuring additional production by Stuart Price) and Iggy Pop shows up on “Stray Dog.” Elly Jackson of Le Roux appears on three tracks: “Tutti Frutti,” “People On The High Line” and “Plastic.” Chemical Brothers’ Tom Rowlands also produced the album’s “Singularity” and “Unlearn This Hatred.”

Music Complete is due out September 25th, but fans who pre-order the album now will receive an instant download of “Restless.” The single itself will receive a full remix package that will become available on vinyl, CD and digitally on October 9th. Music Complete – the band’s first release on Mute – will be available on CD, digital download, black vinyl and a limited edition clear vinyl. New Order will also offer up an exclusive eight-piece deluxe vinyl collection that includes the album plus extended versions of all 11 tracks on colored vinyl.

In This Article: New Order


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.