Hear Michael Jackson and Freddie Mercury's Long-Lost Duet - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hear Michael Jackson and Freddie Mercury’s Long-Lost Duet

“There Must Be More to Life Than This” is one of three unreleased tracks on upcoming compilation ‘Queen Forever’

queen freddy mercury michael jacksonqueen freddy mercury michael jackson

UNITED STATES - DECEMBER 01: MADISON SQUARE GARDEN Photo of Freddie MERCURY and QUEEN, Freddie Mercury performing in stage (Photo by Richard E. Aaron/Redferns)

Richard E. Aaron/Redferns

Thirty-three years after they first began work on the track, Queen will finally release “There Must Be More to Life Than This” – featuring vocals by Freddie Mercury and Michael Jackson – on their upcoming compilation album Queen Forever, which hits shelves on November 11th. The song was written during the Hot Space sessions, but they never finished it and Mercury eventually released his own version on his 1985 solo debut Mr. Bad Guy.

Producer William Orbit, best known for his work on Madonna’s Ray of Light, was brought in to finish “There Must Be More to Life Than This.” “When I first played it in my studio, I opened a trove of delights provided by the greatest of musicians,” he said in a statement. “Hearing Michael Jackson’s vocals was stirring. So vivid, so cool, and poignant, it was like he was in the studio singing live. With Freddie’s vocal solo on the mixing desk, my appreciation for his gift was taken to an even higher level.” In contrast ​to Mercury’s solo, stripped-back version, the new Orbit-produced version adds strings, guitars and a lot more bombast. 

Queen Forever will also feature a new version of “Love Kills,” which Mercury recorded with producer Giorgio Moroder for a restored version of Fritz Lang’s Metropolis in 1984. “They took out all the disco production and turned it into more of a traditional Queen arrangement,” says Adam Lambert, who played the tune with Queen on their summer tour.”It’s an amazing song, very dramatic and powerful with a beautiful melody.”

Also appearing on Queen Forever is “Let Me in Your Heart Again,” a Brian May-penned tune that dates back to the sessions for 1984’s The Works. Mercury put down a vocal track, but the song was never finished. May and Roger Taylor recently went back into the studio to record new guitar parts and backing vocals.

The LP will be available as a 20-track single CD and an 36-track two-CD set. Skipping obvious hits like “We Will Rock You” and “Bohemian Rhapsody,” the collection focuses on lesser-known tunes like “Mother Love,” “The Miracle” and “Drowse.”

Queen and Adam Lambert wrapped up their 2014 world tour with a show in Auckland, New Zealand on September 4th, but future shows remain a possibility. “I’m definitely down,” Lambert told Rolling Stone in June. “I’m having so much fun.”

Here’s the complete track listing for both editions of Queen Forever.

Single CD:

1. “Let Me In Your Heart Again”
2. “Love Kills – The Ballad”
3. “There Must Be More To Life Than This” (William Orbit Mix)
4. “It’s A Hard Life”
5. “You’re My Best Friend”
6. “Love Of My Life”
7. “Drowse”
8. “Long Away”
9. “Lily Of The Valley”
10. “Don’t Try So Hard”
11. “Bijou”
12. “These Are The Days Of Our Lives”
13. “Las Palabras De Amor”
14. “Who Wants To Live Forever”
15. “A Winter’s Tale”
16. “Play The Game”
17. “Save Me”
18. “Somebody To Love”
19. “Too Much Love Will Kill You”
20. “Crazy Little Thing Called Love” 



1. “Let Me In Your Heart Again”
2. “Love Kills – The Ballad”
3. “There Must Be More To Life Than This” (William Orbit Mix)
4. “Play The Game”
5. “Dear Friends”
6. “You’re My Best Friend”
7. “Love Of My Life”
8. “Drowse”
9. “You Take My Breath Away”
10. “Spread Your Wings”
11. “Long Away”
12. “Lily Of The Valley”
13. “Don’t Try So Hard”
14. “Bijou”
15. “These Are The Days Of Our Lives”
16. “Nevermore”
17. “Las Palabras De Amor”
18. “Who Wants To Live Forever”


1. “I Was Born To Love You”
2. “Somebody To Love”
3. “Crazy Little Thing Called Love”
4. “Friends Will Be Friends”
5. “Jealousy”
6. “One Year of Love”
7. “A Winters Tale”
8. “‘39”
9. “Mother Love”
10. “It’s A Hard Life”
11. “Save Me”
12. “Made in Heaven”
13. “Too Much Love Will Kill You”
14. “Sail Away Sweet Sister”
15. “The Miracle”
16. “Is This The World We Created”
17. “In The Lap Of The Gods…Revisited”
18. “Forever”


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.