Hear Julian Casablancas' New 11-Minute Song 'Human Sadness' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hear Julian Casablancas’ Experimental New 11-Minute Song ‘Human Sadness’

Strokes frontman also reveals track list and album art for upcoming solo effort ‘Tyranny’

Julian Casablancas performs

Julian Casablancas performs during the 2014 Governors Ball Music Festival at Randall's Island on June 7th, 2014 in New York City.

Daniel Zuchnik/FilmMagic

Julian Casablancas has offered up “Human Sadness,” a sprawling 11-minute track, and the first official taste from Tyranny, his upcoming solo album with new backing band the Voidz.

The track is now available to purchase on iTunes or can be streamed below. As Casablancas and the Voidz’s performances this summer at Coachella and Governor’s Ball suggested, the Strokes frontman was moving in a more experimental direction. “Human Sadness” is a structure-less beast that features everything from jarring noise and warped, processed vocals to bombastic stadium rock solos and a hint of the gritty NYC punk Casablancas is best known for.

Along with “Human Sadness,” Casablancas and the Voidz revealed the album art and tracklist for Tyranny, which sees release on September 23rd via the frontman’s own Cult Records imprint. The complete track list is below.

Pre-orders for Tyranny have also begun over on the Cult Records website. The album is available in all the expected formats — CD, vinyl, digital, even cassette — plus as an USB drive containing high-quality MP3s that’s wrapped in a mini-lighter sleeve, which you can then slide onto any BIC mini.

Tyranny comes a year after the Strokes’ last record, Comedown Machine, and a little under five years after Casablancas’ solo debut, Phrazes for the Young. Casablancas and the Voidz are also set to hit the road this fall, kicking off their track on October 16th at the Electric Factory in Philadelphia, then wrapping things up on November 25th at the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City.

Tyranny track list

1. “Take Me in Your Army” 
2. “Crunch Punch” 
3. “M.utually A.ssured D.estruction” 
4. “Human Sadness” 
5. “Where No Eagles Fly” 
6. “Father Electricity” 
7. “Johan Von Bronx” 
8. “Business Dog” 
9. “Xerox” 
10. “Dare I Care”
11. “Nintendo Blood” 
12. “Off to War…”

In This Article: Julian Casablancas, The Strokes


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.