Hear Johnny Cash's “Ain't No Grave” From “American VI” - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hear Johnny Cash’s “Ain’t No Grave” From “American VI”

“There ain’t no grave/Can hold my body down,” Johnny Cash sings on the title track of his final album, the sixth in his American Recordings series with Rick Rubin. The disc, American VI: Ain’t No Grave, will arrive on February 26th, what would have been Cash’s 78th birthday. As Rolling Stone reported, Scott and Seth Avett of the Avett Brothers play on the LP, along with Benmont Tench, Mike Campbell, Smokey Hormel, Matt Sweeney and Jonny Polonsky. Producer Rubin explained the album was completed while Cash was in poor health, in between trips to the hospital and during the time Cash was mourning the loss of his beloved wife, June Carter Cash. But despite the hardships, Cash was defiant. “He didn’t really have fear and he already was dealing with pain,” Rubin said. “I think he had acceptance. When he knew he was going to die, he was calm and matter of fact about it, and … that was it.”

Rubin took Rolling Stone through American VI track by track in our next issue, on stands February 17th. Pick up a copy then for the full story, and hear “Ain’t No Grave” here now:

American VI: Ain’t No Grave Track List:
1. “Ain’t No Grave” (traditional)
2. “Redemption Day” (Sheryl Crow)
3. “For The Good Times” (Kris Kristofferson)
4. “I Corinthians 15:55” (Johnny Cash)
5. “Where I’m Bound” (Tom Paxton)
6. “Satisfied Mind” (J.H. Red hayes, Jack Rhodes)
7. “It Don’t Hurt Anymore” (Don Robertson and Jack Rollins)
8. “Cool Water” (Bob Nolan)
9. “Last Night I Had the Strangest Dream” (Ed McCurdy)
10. “Aloha Oe” (Queen Lili’uokalani)


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.