Hear Grateful Dead's Final Live 'Standing on the Corner' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hear Grateful Dead’s Final Live ‘Standing on the Corner’ From 1966 Show

Last-known concert recording of track to appear on bonus disc of upcoming ‘Grateful Dead’ 50th-anniversary reissue

Hear Grateful Dead's Final Live 'Standing On the Corner' From 1966 ShowHear Grateful Dead's Final Live 'Standing On the Corner' From 1966 Show

The Grateful Dead deliver a plucky rendition of "Standing on the Corner" from an unreleased 1966 show set to appear on a reissue of their debut LP.

Herb Greene

The Grateful Dead have unveiled a sprightly and rare live rendition of “Standing on the Corner” set to appear on the upcoming 50th-anniversary edition of their self-titled 1967 debut LP.

The track was recorded during the band’s July 29th, 1966, set at the P.N.E. Garden Auditorium in Vancouver, and as Grateful Dead archivist David Lemieux tells Rolling Stone, the concert marked the Dead’s first official show outside of California.

“Their only other appearance outside of their home state prior to this was in January 1966 in Portland at an Acid Test, but this was their first billing, as part of the Vancouver Trips Festival,” Lemieux says. “Featuring a remarkable original song, ‘Standing on the Corner,’ in one of only a handful of known live appearances, with this one being the last.”

Selections from the Dead’s previously unreleased July 29th and 30th concerts at the Vancouver Trips Festival will comprise the second disc of the Grateful Dead deluxe edition. Notably, along with “Standing on the Corner,” these shows include the final known live recordings of “You Don’t Have to Ask Me” and “Cardboard Cowboy.” 

The Dead will release the deluxe edition of their debut album on January 20th as a two-CD set or a vinyl picture disc limited to 10,000 copies. Both will include the Vancouver Trips recordings as well as David Glasser’s newly remastered version of The Grateful Dead from the original tapes. More information and preorders are now available on the group’s website.

The Grateful Dead have also opened subscriptions to a new seven-inch singles series that will find the group re-pressing their 27 singles on colored vinyl. The series begins with the group’s debut, “Stealin'” b/w “Don’t Ease Me In,” which arrives March 1st on white vinyl. Subscriptions are available via dead.net for $44.98, which includes the first four installments, released quarterly throughout the year.

Grateful Dead 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition Track List

Disc 1
1. “The Golden Road (to Unlimited Devotion)”
2. “Beat It On Down the Line”
3. “Good Morning Little School Girl”
4. “Cold Rain & Snow”
5. “Sitting on Top of the World”
6. “Cream Puff War”
7. “Morning Dew”
8. “New, New Minglewood Blues”
9. “Viola Lee Blues”

Disc Two: P.N.E. Garden Auditorium, Vancouver, BC, Canada
1. “Standing on the Corner”
2. “I Know You Rider”
3. “Next Time You See Me”
4. “Sitting on Top of the World”
5. “You Don’t Have to Ask”
6. “Big Boss Man”
7. “Stealin’”
8. “Cardboard Cowboy”
9. “Baby Blue”
10. “Cream Puff War”
11. “Viola Lee Blues”
12. “Beat It On Down The Line”
13. “Good Morning Little Schoolgirl”
14. “Cold, Rain and Snow”
15. “One Kind Favor”
16. “Hey Little One”
17. “New, New Minglewood Blues”

In This Article: The Grateful Dead


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.