Giorgio Moroder Preps 'Deja Vu,' Britney Spears Covers 'Tom's Diner' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hear Giorgio Moroder and Sia’s Bubbly Dance-Pop Track ‘Deja Vu’

Disco legend also details star-studded track list, which includes Charli XCX and Kylie Minogue

Disco pioneer Giorgio Moroder has offered up the track list and title track for his forthcoming album, Déjà Vu, which arrives June 12th and features an all-star supporting cast that includes Sia, Charli XCX and Britney Spears.

The track list’s most exciting detail is Spears’ upcoming cover of Suzanne Vega’s classic, “Tom’s Diner,” but on Friday, the producer shared the ebullient dance-pop title track featuring Sia. 

In an interview with Rolling Stone, Moroder teased the Spears collaboration, noting he couldn’t say what track they were doing, but explained, “Britney came to my management company with the idea to do a particular song with me, which was interesting because usually it’s the other way, with the producer offering a song.”

Among the other featured players are Kylie Minogue — who appears on the previously released, “Right Here, Right Now” — Kelis, budding singer/producer Mikky Ekko (who was featured on Rihanna’s “Stay”), singer-songwriter Matthew Koma, Swedish pop singer Marlene and British songstress Foxes. A complete track list is below.

Déjà Vu marks Moroder’s first album in 30 years, a comeback inspired by the work he did with Daft Punk on their 2013 LP, Random Access Memories. After partnering with the robots, Moroder began booking DJ gigs and drawing inspiration from the crowds, who were decades younger than him (one previously released Déjà Vu track boasts the title, “74 is the New 24”).

“I felt so young. I mean, I’m 74, but I still felt like part of this young generation,” Moroder told Rolling Stone. “Some of those guys knew my songs and were not even born when they came out. It’s nice to hear a 20-year-old guy or girl sing along with the lyrics.”

Déjà Vu track list

1. “4 U With Love”
2. “Déjà Vu” (ft. Sia)
3. “Diamonds” (ft. Charli XCX)
4. “Don’t Let Go” (ft. Mikky Ekko)
5. “Right Here, Right Now” (ft. Kylie Minogue)
6. “Tempted” (ft. Matthew Koma)
7. “74 is the New 24”
8. “Tom’s Diner” (ft. Britney Spears)
9. “Wildstar” (ft. Foxes)
10. “Back and Forth” (ft. Kelis)
11. “I Do This For You” (ft. Marlene)
12. “La Disco”

In This Article: Giorgio Moroder


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.