Hear David Lynch's Ominous Song Inspired by Polish Landscape - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hear David Lynch’s Ominous Song Inspired by Polish Landscape

Track will appear on ‘Polish Night Music,’ a collaborative experimental album with composer Marek Zebrowski

David Lynch and Marek ZebrowskiDavid Lynch and Marek Zebrowski

David Lynch will release a new collaborative album with composer Marek Zebrowski, inspired by Poland

Dean Hurley

David Lynch‘s experimental collaboration with Polish composer Marek Zebrowski, Polish Night Music, which got a limited released in 2008, is getting a second life on vinyl. The album, which consists of four lengthy pieces with oblique titles alluding to dark streets and factories, will be available on November 13th as a two-LP set; the new edition includes a download card to access a four-track live album, Live at the Consulate General of the Republic of Poland, with more surreal songs about machines and cathedrals.

One nearly 18-minute track from Polish Night Music, “Night (A Landscape With a Factory),” is now streaming. Lynch and Zebrowski crafted it from carefully measured, random-sounding piano notes and swelling, ambient, occasionally ominous synth chords.

“[Poland] is a landscape that continues to remain at once familiar and completely alien to me,” Zebrowski said in a statement. “Every time I am there, I am surprised by something, and I think for David, Poland certainly represents the process of discovery.”

“We don’t know what will happen,” Lynch offered.

The composer met the filmmaker during the Camerimage Film Festival in Lodz, Poland and struck up a friendship that led to Zebrowski writing the music for Lynch’s 2006 film, Inland Empire. Eventually, Lynch and Zebrowski converged on the director’s L.A. studio to try out some experiments that would lead to Polish Night Music.

In other Lynch news, the filmmaker – who is currently working on a new season of Twin Peaks – will put out a quasi-memoir, Life & Work, in 2017. “There’s a lot of bullshit out there about me, in books and all over the Internet,” he said in a statement. “I want to get all the right information in one place, so if someone wants to know something, they can find it here. And I wouldn’t do it with anyone other than Kristine; she and I go way back, and she gets it right.”

Polish Night Music Track List

1. “Night (City Black Street)”
2. “Night (A Landscape With Factory)”
3. “Night (Interiors)”
4. “Night (A Woman On a Dark Street Corner)”

Live at the Consulate General of the Republic of Poland, Bonus Live Album Track List

1. “Night (Memories of Machines)”
2. “Night (Unfilled Dreams)”
3. “Night (The Great Electrical Plants Stand Like Cathedrals)”
4. “Night (Snowfalls Through The Black Leafless Trees)”

In This Article: David Lynch


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.