Hear Danzig Leave Scorched Earth on 'Devil on Hwy 9' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hear Danzig Leave Scorched Earth on New Song ‘Devil on Hwy 9’

Heavy metal act drop first single off upcoming LP ‘Black Laden Crown’

Danzig take a blazing ride into the darkness on “Devil on Hwy 9,” the first cut off Glenn Danzig and company’s upcoming LP Black Laden Crown. The album marks the group’s first set of original material in seven years.

“Devil on Hwy 9” is a literal trip down a highway to hell, with the singer leaving scorched earth in his wake.

“Pedal to the metal on a thousand miles of the blackest road you can drive / Don’t look to the left, don’t look to the right / Keep your eyes on the fucking line,” Danzig wails. “Keep your hands on the wheel / Make those tires squeal / If you’re gonna make this run alive.”

Danzig recently detailed the band’s two-day Blackest of the Black Festival, which features the band alongside fellow heavy metal acts Suicidal Tendencies, Ministry, Corrosion of Conformity, Atreyu and more. The fest takes place May 26th and 27th at Silverado, California’s Oak Canyon Park.

“I first started Blackest in the early 2000s and finally my full vision is being realized,” Danzig said in a statement. “Get ready for sensory overload from films to comics to Castle Danzig. This is going to be the real Blackest of the Black.”

In addition to “Devil on Hwy 9,” Danzig also revealed the track list for the 50-minute Black Laden Crown, which is available to pre-order now.

Black Laden Crown Track List

1. “Black Laden Crown”

2. “Eyes Ripping Fire”
3. “Devil On Hwy 9”
4. “Last Ride”
5. “The Witching Hour”
6. “But A Nightmare”
7. “Skulls & Daisies”
8. “Blackness Falls”
9. “Pull The Sun”

In This Article: Danzig, Glenn Danzig


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.