Hear Bob Dylan's Smoky Frank Sinatra Cover 'Melancholy Mood' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hear Bob Dylan’s Smoky Frank Sinatra Cover ‘Melancholy Mood’

Legendary musician details track list for new album ‘Fallen Angels’

Bob Dylan has served up a somber, slinking cover of Frank Sinatra’s “Melancholy Mood” as the first offering from his upcoming album, Fallen Angels.

The song opens with a delicate guitar solo, which faithfully recreates the sloshed trumpet paean that introduces the 1939 original Sinatra recorded with the Harry James Orchestra. But rather than a lonesome croon, Dylan delivers a hushed vocal performance that piques at the right moments. The singer delivers both a quick rush of syllables and higher notes that imbue his voice with an extra layer of grit. 

Fallen Angels marks the follow-up to Dylan’s 2015 album of Sinatra covers, Shadows in the Night. The new LP boasts 12 songs, 11 of which were recorded by the legendary crooner (“Skylark” being the exception). A full track list is available below, and boasts such Sinatra standards as “All or Nothing at All,” “It Had to Be You,” “That Old Black Magic” and “Young at Heart.”

Dylan is about to kick off a Japanese tour, but will return to the U.S. for a string of dates beginning June 4th and 5th at Woodinville, Washington’s Chateau Ste. Michelle Winery. Mavis Staples will serve as the opening act throughout the 27-date trek.

Fallen Angels is slated for release on May 20th.

Fallen Angels Track List

1. “Young At Heart”
2. “Maybe You’ll Be There”
3. “Polka Dots And Moonbeams”
4. “All The Way”
5. “Skylark”
6. “Nevertheless”
7. “All Or Nothing At All”
8. “On A Little Street In Singapore”
9. “It Had To Be You”
10. “Melancholy Mood”
11. “That Old Black Magic”
12. “Come Rain Or Come Shine”

In This Article: Bob Dylan, Frank Sinatra


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.